Home » Uncategorized » Deadline Achieved!

Deadline Achieved!

On Sunday I finished writing the first draft of my first ever manuscript!

I got very excited.

I didn’t record my reaction to this moment, which is probably a good thing. It mainly involved lots of wiggling and gyrating in some kind of bizarre triumphant ritual dance. Not a pretty scene, though a joyous one nonetheless.

I have now read through and edited the draft so many times myself that I could probably recite it from memory. But that’s it. I am giving it to my lovely readers to check over and I am not looking at it again until I get back all the copies with their comments.

What started out as a try at a 15,000 word novella turned into a 35,900 word one!

So, in celebration of this moment I thought I would give a short introduction to my novella (which isn‘t going to be self-published for some time yet, but I can still get excited about it, right?).

It is called, ‘Stolen’, and it is as paranormal, vampire romance. I can almost hear the collective groan of everyone thinking, ‘Vampire romance? Because that’s never been done before’, words so heavy with sarcasm they have a hard time not falling from their heads. And, yes, you would be right. It’s not exactly a new type of story to get involved with.

But I do like a good vampire romance, so why not write one? Plus this story is based on one I wrote when I was in my teens, and it seemed a good starting point. Obviously it has been MUCH updated since the one I wrote all those years ago and barely even resembles it now.

So, now this deadline has been achieved (a fact that has me grinning from ear to ear since it happened) all I can do now is wait for the comments to come back. Until then I am trying not to think about and it concentrate on planning for my next novella!

Progress Report:

Word Count: 35,900, final count for first manuscript.

Status of First Manuscript: With the proof-readers.

January E-Book Review: 52% Read

Have you finished your first manuscript? How did it feel to get to that moment? Was there gyrating and triumphant dancing involved?

12 thoughts on “Deadline Achieved!

  1. Well, *that* escalated quickly. Congrats : ) I’m not into vampires but you are completely right – write what *you* want to write; it doesn’t matter what other people think. Congrats again and go have another epic victory dance 😀

    • Yeah, I was writing like a mad thing since mid-December! But it was worth it the end, even if my hand is killing me now 😀 I really hope they enjoy it too, got to keep my nerves in check until I get their comments back.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Congratulations! The first is the worst, so bear in mind that everything should be easier from here on out! Let me know if you’d like someone to proofread. 🙂

    • Thanks very much 🙂 I hope it’s a bit easier now, I am already itching to get started on my next one! But I should probably wait until I have actually finished editing and things 😀

      Thanks for the offer and for commenting and reading 🙂

  3. Pingback: Following the Blogs of Other Writers | A Writer's Life For Me.

Leave a Reply

