Home » Uncategorized » Following the Blogs of Other Writers

Following the Blogs of Other Writers

I know that’s a bit of an odd title for a post, but it’s been something I’ve been thinking of lately.

I follow quite a few blogs of other writers and love finding new ones: some self-published, some just poetry or short stories, some who are like me and are part way on their journey to getting self published.

There are an amazing amount of blogs out there and a great variety of perspectives, I enjoy reading about it all. This is partly because I am totally nosey! But also because there are some great articles out there on writing with tips or points I had never even thought of. Reading so many blogs gives me a wealth of knowledge I don’t think I could get anywhere else.

Also, I get to read about people’s own journeys through their writing careers and it helps to give me optimism in my down times, but also realise that it is a struggle for others not just myself. It’s a nice feeling to know there are those willing to talk about their problems so as I can prepare for those challenges if I ever get stuck in them myself.

I often comment a lot on other blogs, I’m not sure if it is welcomed that I comment so often, but I like to do it so as the blog owners know that I appreciate the effort they went to in posting. It’s my way of saying thank you for taking the time, I guess!

The more blogs I read and comment on the more I feel almost part of a community of people, of writers, who love what they do so much they want to talk about it to others. Everyone seems willing to offer advice or help out, for example, when I posted my Deadline Achieved post, I got a comment from The College Novelista offering to proofread my book. That was an incredible offer from someone I have never met and it gave me such a great, welcoming feeling! I hope this is the feeling others get.

I know that blogs can become almost like popularity contests in how many followers you can get or how many likes, but so far in the writing community I haven’t noticed that too much. People offer great comments and discussions to articles that are well written and honest and I love that!

I realise this article was a bit of a strange thing to post, but I just wanted to get it out. To say that I love reading other writer’s blogs and that every post is appreciated as I scrawl through them all greedily grabbing up new tips and new views on writing.

So, if you get a chance, why not check out a new blog? Offer a comment to someone new?

Do you like the community feeling of writing blogs? Have you got a blog you’d like to recommend and why?

Progress Report:

Status of First Manuscript: 2/3 Copies back from the proof readers. (Very exciting! 😀 )

January E-Book Review: 100% Read, review being written.

52 thoughts on “Following the Blogs of Other Writers

  1. No, no – this isn’t a strange post – it’s a good one and a good comment on sharing the writing journey. Hmm – have you heard of Catharine, Caffeinated? She’s a successful self-published author and her blog is really good. She has written so many great posts about her experience.

    • I’m glad you agree, it is nice to hear 😀

      I am following her 😀 Thanks for the recommendation, hope others check her out too!

      Thanks for reading and commenting, always very much appreciated 🙂

  2. I love the feel of community. My heart subs when someone comments on my blog. I like likes, but comments show the person took time or of their busy lives to say something. I am also nosey and go find a handful of new blogs every time I am on the net. It is addicting yet satisfying.

  3. This has been my experience as well. I blogged for several year, mostly to family and friends, before I began to spread out into the blogosphere, and the transition has been fun. I recently did a series of posts on my caintdonothingwithlove blog on Blogs of Strangers because I have found many blogs that I truly enjoy and wanted to share them with others. This discovery has been a lot more important to me than Follows and Likes, but that’s just where I am these days. I’m looking forward to get to know your blog better.

    • It is nice discovering new blogs that you can really enjoy 😀 There are so many different views and articles out there that is great to stumble upon, it does get more than just ‘likes’ and more about finding people with the same interest and that sense of community.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. It’s the blogging community that makes blogging worthwhile. In the past year and a half of blogging consistently, I have found my writing outside of blogging has improved dramatically, both because of practice and also because of seeing the tips and tricks others have shared. I have developed friendships with individual bloggers one comment at a time, and it has built a great support network.

    • It’s really encouraging to hear that so many have had such positive experiences blogging 🙂 I really do think it helps to improve writing, I have learnt so much from loads of different blogs already!

      Thank you for reading and commenting, very appreciated 🙂

  5. What a nice post. I’m surprised you question whether or not your comments on blogs are welcome — I find it incredibly flattering when someone takes the time to engage with a post that I wrote. Love your blog!

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like the blog 😀 I am glad comments are appreciated, I love getting them myself. It is nice to know someone enjoyed your post so much that they want to leave a comment. I am lucky enough I have time to leave comments so often, I know some people just don’t have the time though they would like too.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. let me assure you that comments are ALWAYS welcome – at least us bloggers know then that someone has actually read our post and liked it enough to bother commenting on it! if anyone leaves a negative comment, if you moderate comments, you can always “trash” it so that it never appears on your blog…

  7. Excellent post, and I so agree. I love to read other blogs, and I love to share them with others. Good for you!

    As for recommendations, I would suggest you check out Trials of a Wanna-Be-Published Writer. I’ve provided a link to it on my blog.

  8. Good post, I agree with your comments totally! I know my writing has improved from listening to the comments of others and I also enjoy reading their blogs 🙂

    • Totally, it’s pretty amazing how willing the writing community is to help each other out, and how much they offer in posts on their blogs! It’s really nice to see 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. So pleased that you discovered my blog, so that I in turn was introduced to yours. I am a complete novice in this writing lark, haven takien up blogging seriously in November 2013, and hastily turning it from a beauty for 50 somethings, to a writing blog. Thanks for the encouragement in your blog. Blessings Joy x

  10. Hi – thanks for checking out my blog! I do like blogging, wish I could find time to do it more regularly. I think blogging at WordPress works especially well, since they seem to do a good job of helping bloggers find one another through their search tools and recommendations. Happy writing!

    • I do find that WordPress is keen on introducing people to lots of other blogs, which is always nice. Blogging is a personal, nice thing, so you just do it when you can, otherwise it can just become a chore, which definitely wouldn’t be good!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  11. So, THAT’S why I get so many likes from you. 🙂 Thank you so much. ❤ I love following other writers and reading about their works and daily lives. It's so much more personal like that, and the writing community I'm a part of has been nothing but amazing since day one. I hope we can chat more and I'll be following you from here on out. YOU CAN DO IT! ❤

    • Yeah, I do try and like and comment as much as I can, mainly just to show as much support to my fellow writers as possible, their posts, poems, short stories, reviews and general writing is so good 😀 I just hope all my comments and likes don’t get annoying!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  12. I LOVE blogging and have made some great friends that I’ve never met through my blog! I also love to recieve comments and appreciate the time and effort it takes. It really is a very supportive network of people.

  13. Hey Harliqueen! I’m certainly glad you started reading my little blog. 🙂 and I love comments. (Well, at least the ones from real people — the pfishing ones, not so much.) Thanks for your blog. And thanks for the follow. Cheers, Rita.

  14. Pingback: Following the Blogs of Other Writers | Joy V. Smith

  15. I’ve come in late on this but I agree 100% with your post. It is very important for me to feel part of a wider online writing community. And you do pick up a lot of tips, some more useful than others. Good luck with your novel.

    • Being part of that community is such a motivating feeling! Knowing there are others out there following the same journey and willing to help each other out.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  16. So much to read and enjoy here, thanks so much for reminding me you are here. Things get a bit hectic at times and even though I want to get and read all the blogs of those I follow, sometimes it takes me an age to get round to it. But when I do – well worth the effort and the delay. Saving this for a little at a time and enjoying no end. Jane x

  17. It is great to see you have had such a great response Mishka. I love your honesty and the thought of community for writers is wonderful.
    Thankyou for visiting my blog!

  18. Thanks for finding my author blog and liking it and for bringing me here. I love the fact that there is a community out there, often never meeting in real life, but none-the-less as supportive of each other as if they had met and were part of a physical group. I have made many friends, had some wonderful experiences and have been included in three anthologies with other writers from across the world – all on the strength of a meeting here in cyber-space. How cool is that! And now we have discovered each other and a whole new world of writers and bloggers and friends. Thanks so much. Chat again soon I hope 🙂

  19. Great blog! Thanks for following mine. Hope you’ll check out a blog hop that I’m on Tuesdays called “Romantic Weekly.” Our group of authors (pre-published and published) answer weekly questions about writing. We love getting new members and you don’t have participate every week. If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll send you an invite through our Facebook group. Dani

    • Checked out the blog hop, looks very interesting, I always enjoy reading thins like that. Left a comment on your blog 😀

      Thanks for checking out my blog to and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

