Home » Writing » The Art of Waiting

The Art of Waiting

I am not a patient person. I’ve tried to become better at waiting yet it just doesn’t work.

But after sending my manuscript copies off to my proof-readers it has been a case of having to be very patient. It is not necessarily the waiting to get back the edit recommendations, which is obviously nerve-racking, it has been the fact I can’t get on with my next novella.

During last week and this week I have begun to plan out my next novella (and a couple after that!), I even started writing a few scenes towards it. I was all ready to plough ahead with the next one whilst waiting for the proof-readers to get back to me. Then my best friend, as well as one of my proofreaders, (who has a blog you should check out, it’s very funny! Lost to the Aether) made an excellent point:

I shouldn’t start writing my next novella until I have finished editing my first manuscript.

He is right, of course. If I start writing my next novella I will be completely lost in writing it and then to have to come out of that world to edit my other story might be a bit disjointing and break my momentum. So, I stopped writing towards it.

But it has been so hard!

The idea of taking a break between books was also to give myself time away from writing for a while, to take the chance between books to have a calm down and do other things. Seeing as when I do start writing a book I generally do not stop! I go at it constantly, even waking up at moments during the night to jot down things I have thought of.

The break is not working out so well so far though, my head is still all about the writing 😀

So, even though I have done my plan for my next book, planned my characters and they are itching to get down onto the page, I know it is best to wait. My plan is to edit Stolen (my first novella) from what the proof-readers advise and then put it away for a couple of months. But I need to do the edit first before putting it away, whilst I am still in the mind-set of Stolen, its characters and that world.

Though, looking at it, I guess it is a good thing to be so excited and keen to write the next one. If I wasn’t raring to go on the next one, I don’t think I’d be very good looking at writing as a career!

I am in awe of those writers who can work on more than one story at once!

Do you write more than one book at once? Do you try to take a break between books? Is it hard for you to wait for the proof-readers to get back to you?

Progress Report:

Status of First Manuscript: 2/3 Copies back from proof-readers.

January E-Book Review: 100% Read, review written. Editing review.

12 thoughts on “The Art of Waiting

  1. I work on whatever catches and keeps my attention. At times that is one story and at others it is multiple stories. I do not usually take breaks between stories. It happens though.

    Every part of writing is hard for me.

    • I get too unfocused if I start on a different story whilst working on another. My brain is easily distracted by my next idea 😀 I admire your ability to go with the flow of where your creativity wants to go too!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Ha! This does not keep my brain from being distracted from my next idea. Sorry to give you that impression. I’m a breeder of plot bunnies. I can’t say this is something positive for me, it’s just what I do unless I’m doing Nano. Then it is focus on one story.

    • Yeah, I find I need to be able to fully give myself to one story in order to get it down to my best ability.

      Thank you for commenting and reading, very appreciated 🙂

  2. I am working with an editor right now in rounds – she has the novel for 3 weeks then it’s back to me and so on. Last time she had it, I finished a new manuscript and this time I’m revising a novel I’ve been working on forever. My thought was actually to take myself out of the novel so that when it came back to me I could look at it with “fresh eyes.” It’s worked for me, but I know from much experience that this is the way I like to work, with lots of balls in the air. Even so that doesn’t mean I’m not terribly impatient to get the work with the editor finished!

    • That sounds like a good plan. You certainly manage to get a lot done in the time between edits! Congrats on that 😀 I think it definitely is about finding the best way to work for you and going with it.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. My first novel has a sequel. I tried to take a break before I wrote the second one but I just couldn’t – my head was going to explode! I have 2-3 others planned that I just let evolve in notebook. I don’t want to get down to writing them because I know I won’t be able to stop & publishing my first novel is currently my priority. Keeping a notebook means I can empty my head & all the information is there for when I’m ready to start. That’s how I do it anyway!

    • That is pretty much how I do it too 😀 I have a notebook that is rather crammed with ideas and plans in the most disorganised mess, but at least I have it all down.

      Congrats on getting your first novel written though! Good luck with your sequel.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

