Home » Writing » February 2014- The Plan

February 2014- The Plan

How, exactly, did it become February already? This year is definitely going too quickly and it’s only the beginning.

So, first off, a round up of January:

– I finished writing my first ever manuscript.
– I posted 10 blog posts, at the rate I wanted of every other day (except Sundays).
– I read 1 book and wrote the review for it.
– I planned out summaries of my next 3 novellas.
– Met a whole new group of wonderful writers through blogging! (Thank you to all followers and commenters πŸ™‚ )

Doesn’t seem much, but it seemed a lot whilst I was doing it πŸ˜€

Now for February!

I thought I better get on with planning out my month. Unfortunately, February is a short month so it should make for interesting times! Anyways, here is what I am setting for myself:

3rd-26th FebruaryWriting the first draft of my second manuscript (taking Sundays off). My word goal will be at least 2000 words a day, with a total word count for my book at a minimum of 25,000 (it is a novella).

27th-28th FebruaryEditing of first draft myself.

28th FebruaryFirst draft off to the proof-readers. February Book Review posted.

Why did February have to be such a short month? πŸ˜€

Well, looks like I’ve got my work cut out for me. Thankfully I’ve done all my research and plans for my next novella already, so it’s just going to be full-on writing.

Did you have a productive January? How are your writing plans for February looking? Any set goals you have planned?

Progress Report:

Status of Second Manuscript: Plan done. Starting writing today (Exciting!)

February E-Book Review: Book Chosen.

27 thoughts on “February 2014- The Plan

    • Tight deadlines can be good, put a little more pressure to get me going, at least, that’s how I’m looking at it πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  1. I think this is such an important exercise – to look back at what you have achieved. Sometimes writing goes so slow, and I get so frustrated with the passage of time. It really helps to say, okay, Ellen – what have you accomplished lately? It makes me look at the half-full glass rather than the drip, drip, drip of progress. Thank you for sharing, and I hope your February is astounding.

    • It is, indeed, very important. It’s easy to lose track of progress and feel as though we are accomplishing nothing, especially with something like writing. Taking check of what we’ve done and being proud of that much is a good thing, I think πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. You got a lot done in January and it seems your targets for February are no less impressive. Well done! My goals for February are to continue posting on my blog every other day (rather like yourself), to really get going with my next book and to try and write more poetry. All the best!

    • January was a good month πŸ˜€ Start the year off as you mean it to go on!

      Your goals sound very good, and achievable (an important part). I’ve been enjoying reading your poems on your blog, your newest one was full of emotion, very expressive πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, it’s always lovely to get feedback, especially since I’m still fairly new to poetry and hoping to improve by pushing myself out of my comfort zone, which is definitely prose.

        It’s great that you set yourself such specific goals – and even better that you manage to meet them!

  3. I like how you plan your time and give yourself goals.Without those goals, it’s hard to get very much done. I’m a big goal-setter, too!

    • Goals are good, they keep me motivated and driven. I’m also a big fan of lists, I love lists, so it all works well for me πŸ˜€

      Hope you reach your February goals πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I write romance, though in a variety of sub-genres, I have very varying interests in love apparently πŸ˜€ My first book, Stolen, is a paranormal romance, my next is a medieval based fantasy and the one after that will be historical!

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

