Home » Writing » Writer’s Fuel

Writer’s Fuel

When I write I drink a lot of tea, some say too much, I say, actually, probably too much as well.

But it is what I like, and it’s part of my creative process when I sit down to write: notebook, pen, notes, research and a cup of tea.

I know caffeine fuels a lot of us, but what happens when the fuel is tampered with?

This week, the brand of tea I’ve been drinking has been just horrible. I can’t finish a cup and it’s rather distracting when I’m in the writing flow to take a sip and have a metallic, kind of liquorice tinge taste rolling around my tongue.

Ugh. It’s not nice, I don’t like it.

Is my caffeine addiction hampering my work? Probably, but tea is a need not a want when I write, so my only option is to get better tea if I want to keep up my writing efforts.

Do you have a fuel? Tea? Coffee? Energy drinks? … Wine? That should make for some interesting writing!

Progress Report

Word Count: 6175 since Wednesday.

Status of Second Manuscript: Writing first draft (total word count: 11,616).

February E-book Review: 41% read.

41 thoughts on “Writer’s Fuel

  1. I’m right there with you, I’m a total teapot too! As for the taste… when that happened to me I realized I was pregnant!!! (sorry 🙂

  2. I drink tea, but it’s decaf. I tried coffee, but the caffeine makes me restless when I write. I’m more of an ambiance writer. My surroundings have to be just right. My room has to be clean, the lighting dim, and my writing playlist must start out on just the right song. It’s a temperamental process!

    • Writing really is an individual process, but usually everyone has their own thing they have to have or do, it’s interesting to find out how people keep in the writing flow 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

    • Tea tends to be my safe option for writing 😀 Though the caffeine can be interesting if I stay up too late, get a bit of a buzz!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. I’ve learnt – to my cost – that if I drink too much tea I won’t get much sleep that night 😦 Ah well, writing or not, nothing beats a nice cup of tea in the morning. Blimey! Your word count is soaring … congrats 😀

    • I need a cup just to wake up on a morning 😀 My word count is creeping up, I’m doing quite well if I do say so myself! I fear I may hit a block as punishment for it going so well now.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. My cousin gave me a charming little book written by a Japanese tea master, and it’s gotten lost under a pile of other books, but in it was something like the first cup . . . oh, here, I found it on Google.

    ” It was of such a beverage that Lotung, a Tang poet, wrote: “The first cup moistens my lips and throat, the second cup breaks my loneliness, the third cup searches my barren entrail but to find therein some five thousand volumes of odd ideographs. The fourth cup raises a slight perspiration,—all the wrong of life passes away through my pores. At the fifth cup I am purified; the sixth cup calls me to the realms of the immortals. The seventh cup—ah, but I could take no more! I only feel the breath of cool wind that rises in my sleeves. Where is Horaisan? Let me ride on this sweet breeze and waft away thither.”

    Isn’t that thrilling? I’m afraid I never get much past the third cup of tea — perhaps too many odd ideographs in my entrails or something (-:.

  5. I definitely drink a lot of tea–incredibly hot tea! The heat must help to fuel the radioactive superdrive in my writing brain. I’ve tried to expand my hot drink obsession to hot chocolate and mild coffee…not that they’re much better for me. 🙂

    • I do love a nice hot chocolate too, especially on winter nights like these, and with the weather so bad. Need something sweet and yummy to keep the writing going at times 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I like a nice latte, usually start my Saturdays that way 🙂

      Thank you so much! It’s so exciting to be nominated 😀 I really appreciate you thinking of my blog for this award.

      Thank you again 🙂

    • Jelly babies? I haven’t had one of those in years 😀 I’m pretty sure the sugar rush would do me some good to keep my writing going!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

