Home » Writing » That’s the Spot

That’s the Spot

I read an author interview over at Nicky Peacock- Author blog where she interviewed A.S Fenichel. It was a great interview with fun answers, but one question really caught my attention:

‘Where do you write the best?’

It got me thinking about my ideal writing space compared to where I write at the moment.

This is what my writing space looks like in the living room:

Workspace

It’s comfy, lots of space (if Harliquin doesn’t take up all the seat!) and in general is quiet during the day. It works for me, I enjoy writing there and I am generally quite productive. The small table also means I can use the laptop for typing up my longhand things.

But if I got to choose my dream writing space, it probably wouldn’t be that. I can dream BIG.

I’d probably have a little cottage somewhere out in the middle of nowhere, just birdsong and nature the only things I could hear. My writing room (with a fabulous view onto a lake or countryside, obviously) would be well organised, be stocked with reference books and be decorated with antique furniture and pretty colours.

That is my fantasy writing place πŸ˜€ I’m not sure if having that would make me write any better, mind you.

But what I have now works for me, and finding any place to write is more important then not writing at all, right? πŸ˜€

What’s your dream writing place? Is it a lot different to where you write now? Do you think the space we write in makes a difference to the actual writing produced?

Progress Report

Word Count: 3,683.

Status of Second Manuscript: Writing first draft.

February E-Book Review: Writing review.

38 thoughts on “That’s the Spot

  1. I can write pretty much anywhere – in bed, at my desk, in the living room, on the train, during class…
    My dream spot would definitely be something with a great view. Somewhere where there is lots to see.

  2. I’ve only ever written in my nook on my small desk. I get lots of ideas at work though and use my notebook. I suppose I’d pick some place scenic with acreage. The only other person if there was one would also be a writer. Non writers tend to hinder me. The house lion can be needy at times but she gets the drift eventually.

    • I think scenic is a must on most people’s list πŸ˜€ I do tend to get my ideas in random places, rather than in my writing space. Your house lion is gorgeous, I’m surprised you’re not distracted by her all the time!

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Harliqueen. Your writing space looks so comfortable, and no wonder you’re so productive there with your pal by your side. My space is on my blog, I think you’ve seen it. Weather permitting I go to the garden though, and find a quiet spot. I often find a holiday break, by the seaside helps the mind to relax, and I write better. So…. my fantasy writing space would be a chalet by the sea, with the seagulls and sound of the sea for inspiration. Maybe the last month or two wouldn’t have been so good though, with all the floods.

    • The sound of the sea would be heavenly to listen to whilst writing, very soothing, though I’d have to stop myself from popping over to the beach for a walk all the time πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. A cottage or a cabin in the woods or overlooking a lake would be lovely. I like to take the laptop outside, often sit out in the patio at home or the coffee shop. I keep meaning to try the park.

    • Getting out and about to write is something I haven’t tried, I know coffee shops are a popular place. I am definitely gonna have to give it a go!

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  5. When I’m doing work related writing, it tends to be more informative and matter-of-fact, so where I do it isn’t as important. When I’m doing my own writing however, a quiet space is definitely best, so I’m very glad I live in the countryside! πŸ™‚

    By a roaring fire in a log cabin, atop a snowy mountain somewhere like Canada would be ideal (one can dream). I actually also heard recently that there are writer retreats in Iceland and you can’t get much more scenic and secluded than that so maybe one day I’ll kill two birds with one stone πŸ˜‰

    • Writer retreats in Iceland? Well, if I had the money, I’d sign up! πŸ˜€ I do think being somewhere relaxing and peaceful really helps to boost my productivity and even my creativity.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, she’d much prefer it that way! πŸ˜€ She isn’t very appreciative when I sit next to her, even less so when I try to give her a cuddle.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  6. Ever since I was young I could always read/write just about anywhere.
    Now my favorite place to write is in coffee shops. I usually bring my ear buds and put on some music to get in the zone. I find it easier to write places other than my house because I’m not distracted by the dishes, laundry, or bathroom that needs cleaning. But…my ideal writing space would be a large office with tall ceilings and an enormous picture window overlooking beautiful landscape. Floor-to-ceiling bookcases stuffed with every book imaginable (and of course a rolling ladder like in Beauty and the Beast), a big cherry wood desk in the middle, couple of wing-back chairs and a fireplace. A fountain pen in an inkwell on the desk and some old antiques throughout the room.
    …it’s a nice dream.

    • That sounds a pretty much perfect dream πŸ˜€ And yes, the rolling ladder would be a must!
      I’m really going to have to try out writing somewhere out of the house, the change might be good, and it would be easier not to get distracted by things at home.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

      • I find I get a lot more done when I’m not at home. If I sit in a coffee shop, all I have is my writing. No one to talk to me, no TV to tempt me, no dishes. πŸ˜‰ I say definitely give it a try. It works for some people.

  7. Oh my gosh can I snuggle your dog? :). Isn’t it funny how they want to get involved when you’re trying to write? Mine seem to always want to play right when I sit down lol. My dream office would have some of that fancy wallpaper that looks like those white-barked trees on one wall, and a window overlooking a garden on the other side. And a window seat. And a big desk…

    • Yeah, my dog always manages to find the worst times to want to play, then doesn’t want to bother when I have the time πŸ˜€
      A big desk is a must, I spread out my stuff a lot! That wallpaper would be lovely.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  8. It depends what mood I’m in. But I generally make myself a veritable nest on the floor (sitting on the floor makes me feel more productive for some reason) near my bed and then just get to it! I guess my dream place to write would be somewhere similar, but maybe smaller… I need to make myself a cupboard to crawl into!! Ha ha!

    πŸ˜€

    • Feeling cosy s a nice thing, I have seen some bed-nest type things with tons of pillows that I’ve always fallen in love with πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  9. I like the sound of your dream space!

    Right now my writing place is an old kitchen table in my home office. I also work my regular 9-5 job from home in that same room but keep that area separate from where I write. My dream space would be a room full of windows to allow as much natural light in as possible with a view of the beach. That room is of course located in my dream beach cottage πŸ™‚

  10. A cottage would be divine. I think your writing space looks super comfy, and how great to have Harliquin by your side. I actually have a pretty nice setup with a large wooden desk I found at a thrift shop for $35. However, we built a small deck on the back of the house last summer, and I loved writing out there. I can’t wait for the weather to break so I can write outside again. I felt so much more productive, and there were fewer distractions.

    • That was a good find, only $35? πŸ˜€

      I am looking forward to some nicer weather (if we ever get it!), writing in the fresh air is a lovely luxury.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  11. Oh! In that picture can I see the Emotion Thesaurus? And if so, do you find it useful?

    A little cottage sounds beautiful – by the sea, or in the Peak/Lake District. Somewhere a little wild and remote but not too much so. And also the cottage needs to be on a hill – so as to avoid flooding.

    Also the writing room must have lots of wood furniture and cushions. Lots of cushions.

    • I love my emotion thesaurus! My friend bought it for me and is so helpful. I like writing emotion, obviously it’s a necessary thing to write πŸ˜€ But I find it hard sometimes to think of different ways to describe one thing, so this definitely helps add variety and not make my writing feel as stale.

      Avoiding flooding is good, especially with this weather! But a little cottage would be nice. And yes, lots of cushions, pretty of course and cost πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  12. I am lucky in that I have a small private study to write in. However, at the moment it is filled with cheap furniture from IKEA and the view over the road of other houses isn’t very inspiring. I am hoping to move soon. It would be lovely to have a quirky old desk. I must look out for one.

    • I do like old things: desks, chairs, pens, anything really. Surrounding myself with pretty things helps my creativity, or at least that’s what I say to justify buying so much of it πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  13. I always dreamed of writing at a secretary desk. My parents had one in their room when I was a kid and I coveted it. Seven years ago, I bought myself my dream desk. I work at it every day. πŸ™‚ Of course if I was going to dream big, I would be in a castle in a library filled with books sitting at my desk writing. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh, a castle, you do dream big πŸ˜€ Though, a castle would set the mood quite well for some of my stories! Some of the ones in Scotland are stunning.

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  14. I built my own writers nook and I absolutely love it! It’s outside so I can’t really have loads of books there (in case it rains). But the open air is definitely my muse πŸ˜‰

  15. I think I might share your fantasy writing cottage – sounds great! At the moment I’m in the corner of my bedroom, though I do have a pretty fantastic writing desk πŸ™‚ It’s an interesting question though – how do the places we write impact on our writing? I can write anywhere, at any time. I tend to go off in my own little world and so the environment doesn’t really matter too much. Having said that, having peace and quiet, the right resources at hand, and plenty of room to plot, plan and while away the hours is bound to produce some pretty fantastic results (at least in the second or third editing stage!).

    • I am quite good at writing most places, my brain doesn’t seem to turn off from writing no matter where I am πŸ˜€ But I definately find myself doing better in the quiet, and somewhere cosy. Havign resources easy to hand is also very useful, as you say, surprising how much I need!

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

