Home » Writing » February Round-up and Plan for March 2014

February Round-up and Plan for March 2014

Ok, seriously, this year is going far quicker than it should!

So, now February is over it’s time to take a look back and see how it went πŸ˜€

– I posted every scheduled day (Monday, Wednesday and Friday).
– I read one e-book (only one, but at least it was something).
– I won my first blog award!
– I finished the first draft of my second novella ahead of schedule.
– I finished the editing of Stolen and put it away until April.

Not bad, it felt a lot more whilst I was doing it! It did feel like a successful month though πŸ™‚

Now, onto the plan for March:

3rd- 8th- Plan third novella and do research/Finishing editing second novella when back from proof-readers

10th March -3rd April- Write first draft of third novella

31st March- March E-Book Review

I also hope to get back to writing short pieces of fiction, which I will probably post on my other blog, Inspiring the Words, which has become a bit neglected.

Melissa Barker-Simpson is holding some writing contests over at Featured Fiction, which I’d like to enter (you should check it out to, itβ€˜s relatively new and looks great fun!). I also want to look into other prompted pieces, as I do miss just doing little snippets of writing that isn’t to do with a novella, so that is another of my goals this month.

With February being such a short month, it kind of put everything a little out of schedule for me trying to write a novella a month, so I have to go into April for my next. But, I am not writing one in April (as this is the month of finalising things and publishing!), so I should be back on track in May.

Busy month ahead, but exciting! πŸ˜€ I am so glad I decided to start this writing journey, I am loving every minute of it and my life is pretty much all consumed by it now!

How did your February go? Did you meet any targets you set yourself? Any goals for March?

32 thoughts on “February Round-up and Plan for March 2014

  1. Hi Harilqueen, you’re busy. I’ve been entering a few competitions. I subbed my first three chapters to an agent, so waiting for a reply, while working on the rest. My aim for March is to get the whole lot as near ready to go as possible. Then get it published and stop talking about it. I’ve had another story accepted by Alfie dog, and will keep sending to the womags. I’ve also got a short story coming up on Creativefrontiers.com. Enjoying following your site. Keep writing…

    • Sounds like you’ve been busy to! πŸ˜€ Good luck with it all, it definitely sounds like you’re progressing quickly. Writing is such a passion, it’s hard not to want to keep doing it all the time, isn’t it?

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. Wow ,you’re so organised! And working on your 3rd novella, well done you! I’ve achieved very little even though I promised myself this would be year I’d get things done. Although to be fair I did send off 4 pieces of fiction to literary magazines last month so I guess it’s not all bad news πŸ˜‰

    • I’d say sending those off was definitely an achievement πŸ˜€ Not as though that was a small thing!

      Good luck with March πŸ™‚ Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

    • It’s my plan anyway, so far it’s going ok, hopefully I can keep it up πŸ˜€

      So far I haven’t had to do too much research, but then I realised this one needs TONS, so I have to get on that now!

      Good luck with your writing and research πŸ™‚

    • Being organised feels great, and at this time, at the beginning of a new novella it feels like everything is planned well and ready to go. Then I actually come to write it and everything just becomes a mess πŸ˜€

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. More brilliant achievements, I envy how motivated you are! πŸ™‚

    I planned to write a lot more poetry and post on my blog every other day in February, both of which I managed. I also wanted to really get going with my next work-in-progress which I haven’t been as successful with as I would like but I’m hoping to knuckle down on that in March.

    I’ve also decided to try and give some of the Featured Fiction prompts a go, so I’m looking forward to that too!

    Best of luck with your new goals! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve been really enjoying your poetry, you’re very talented! Yeah, I really want to try some prompted short pieces again, I miss doing those.

      Good luck with all your writing in March πŸ˜€

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Well done for reaching your goals, and setting yourself new ones to keep the momentum going. It’s very exciting, and I’m glad we get to share the journey with you. Thanks for the shout-out by the way πŸ™‚ Your support and encouragement mean a lot. Mel.

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog, your blog looks great and I look forward to reading future posts. Sounds like you got a lot done through February. Good luck with your writing in March, I hope you complete all your goals.

    • Thank you, I hope I manage to complete this novella on time as well, nothing like meeting goals to keep me motivated! πŸ˜€

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting πŸ™‚

    • Good luck with it πŸ˜€ I’m hoping with March being a normal length month it will help get back into a rhythm!

      Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  6. Hey there! I must tell you I admire your goal-setting and ‘get ‘er done’ abilities! I am lacking in both. I’ve been trying to blog regularly (I say that right after I’ve taken somewhat of a hiatus!) and I enter the odd writing contest, but, I have failed to work on my novel.

    Your post has reminded me that I need to get down to it, so thank you! :))

    • Good luck and have fun with it πŸ˜€ Everyone has different routines and finding time to be able to write, I’m sure you will find yours.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting, much appreciated πŸ™‚

  7. Way to go! I’m gearing up for camp nano. Slugging away at my story when I can.

    Hey I say where you mentioned scriv in another post. Join Nanowrimo and they give you a 50% off when you finish. It is a lot of fun if you’ve never tried the camp before. I may give scriv. another try and get it with the discount.

Leave a Reply

