Home » Writing » Overcoming Fear with Passion!

Overcoming Fear with Passion!

I have to admit something.

Doing research for a historical novella made me scared.

This will be the first story I’ve ever set in a real time period and place, and obviously, I want to get it right!

But the nervousness to get it right was hampering my ability to plan my next novella. I realised it last week when I was trying to write out my plan and I just got completely stuck. I was so worried about getting it wrong.

Then yesterday, when the sun was shining for the first time in what felt like years, I just wrote my plan. Just sat down and did it. This story is one I have been wanting to get out for a couple of years and just because it’s set somewhere historical shouldn’t make me freeze up.

I love writing and telling my stories too much for it to stop me.

Yes, there is a lot of research, and yes, I want it to feel real, but I am determined not to let that worry me from getting out this story which I am so passionate to tell!

So, I managed to finish about 90% of my plan yesterday and found some old books I had which were perfect to help me in my research. I was amazed at how much doing research helped with my plan. I found snippets of information which inspired whole new scenes in my story, and some bits of info that made some of my more difficult parts come together easily!

I realised I should never feel scared to write what I want to. If there is a story I want to tell and it’s set somewhere real or historical or even fantasy, as long I research and learn enough, why shouldn’t I tell it? 🙂 I did hit a bit of a brick wall from the fear of getting it ‘wrong’, but once I let that go in favour of wanting to tell my story more, things started to fall into place!

Now I realise I shouldn’t be scared of research but embrace it. Plus, I have been absolutely loving learning about the time period my next novella is set in. I love history in general, and immersing myself into this ancient world has been a fascinating and exciting process!

So, if you are ever worried about a story being set somewhere or in some time that you are unsure about, don’t be! The love of story-telling and writing is worth getting over that fear for, trust me. And you might just surprise yourself 😀

I am planning on writing a post about my research process at some point, maybe it might help someone. But that won’t be until later. Today I am off to edit my second novella, as I have received all my manuscripts back from the proof-readers! (I’m already behind in my plan for March!).

Have you ever been put off writing a story because of setting or because of something you were unsure of? Have you ever gotten over a fear because you love what you want to do more than being worried?

Progress Report

Status of Second Manuscript: Editing.

March E-Book review: Choosing book.

27 thoughts on “Overcoming Fear with Passion!

  1. A lot later down the line, if you can find someone well-versed in the era, you could have them look through your story for anachronisms and offer advice. You’re right — do enough research to get you fired up, then get the story written. Those historical details can be embellished later.

    • It is, after all, the story that people want to read the book for, right? (Hopefully!).

      History is amazing and shouldn’t be something that puts me off writing but inspires me to do it more 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I have the same problem. I start writing then realise I’m not sure about a fact or detail. That makes me stop writing to go in search of the, often illusive, fact, which sometimes takes hours. It really breaks my flow. I just get scared of making a mistake and getting negative reviews for it. It’s something I get hung up on.

  3. I think anyone who does something creative – be it writing, music, art or otherwise – has moments of self-doubt. It’s only normal to worry about inaccuracies or people not engaging with your work because the process itself is often so personal but it’s passion for what you do that makes you press on regardless and that’s what really matters. I think it shows when a writer loves their story and that goes a long way towards an audience’s ability to enjoy it 🙂

    • Great comment 🙂 And very true. I think when someone has a real passion for something, it shines through and is incredibly engaging!

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  4. “I found snippets of information which inspired whole new scenes in my story”—This is such a good point. While doing research for my new project, I made lots of notes of potential findings that would make for a good scene. As a result, the research helped fuel my story beyond just the basic facts I was looking into. Good for you for embracing it. Makes our stories that much stronger.

    • The small things can really make a difference, and is quite fascinating at times 😀 It was amazing how much there was to learn and some of it was just to good to leave out of my story!

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. This was so great to read Mishka because I think the very reason I keep putting my children’s book on the back burner is because of the fear of getting the research wrong. It’s partly set in the 1800’s when child labour was rife and some of the stuff I’m finding is conflicting. You’ve given me the urge to pick up my pen and have another go though! Good luck with your research!

    • Good luck with yours too! I’m glad you will try again, it will be worth it 😀 Writing is such a great thing, and overcoming those little worries makes it feel even more of an achievement.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  6. I feel encouraged. World-building, for one, intimidates me, but after reading this post, I won’t let my silly fears hold me back. I’m happy that you broke past that brick wall. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.

    • It is good to share these moments, it’s easy to get pulled down by research or worry of not getting things, ‘right’. But I want to enjoy writing so will no longer fear things such as that! 😀

      Good luck with yours 🙂

  7. I’ve written historical novels (under a different name), and I loved doing them, but I have to admit that I stick to contemporary right now to avoid that massive amount of research. It’s a lot of work! I’m glad you’re doing it, though. Once you’ve done it, you KNOW you can do it! 🙂 Good for you!

    • Yeah, I hope once I have finished this novella, I will feel more confident in the future about writing more historical ones 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. Good luck Harliqueen. Don’t let the fear bugs bite. If you love what you’re writing and have passion for it, that will carry your story. The story is what I want to read most of all. While I absolutely value the details in historical, they are what gives you the feeling for the era, I don’t read it to read the details.

  9. I avoid planning if I can help it. When I get an idea I tend to roll with it and get completely lost. The research comes later, unless I’m really stuck, and I both love and hate this part. I enjoy the progression the story takes in its second edit, but sometimes I worry I haven’t researched enough and can get a little distracted. I like the freedom of writing without destination, but sometimes I wish I were a planner. It’s one of the things I’m working on.
    A very interesting post.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Mel

    • Letting the story and writing flow can really help the story 🙂 Sometimes you definitely just got to go with it and figure out the minor details later!

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  10. Yes, research can seem annoying, but it, invariably, improves the story. You also feel more confident to tell the story how you want to because you’ve researched it. You won’t end up leaving things out because you don’t know enough about it. Good Luck.

  11. I have two, both of which I have posted about in the past. I put on hold a geocentric universe WIP and completely didn’t even start a Western that I wanna do someday. Researching the Western will be easy enough, but what research can I do about a universe with physics that are nothing like our own?

    So for that I wanted to get a better understanding of actual physics so I could skew them but at least believably haha.

    I hope I can overcome my fear of getting it all wrong with passion someday soon. :] I think I really needed to see something like this so thanks. :]

    • Good luck with your own research, sounds a lot more difficult than mine! 😀 But it sounds like it will be awesome. Having a better understanding of something in order to twist is always works out better then just trying to bluff it, I think.

      Thank you for reading and commenting, much appreciated 🙂

    • Ah, editing, it’s definitely a love/hate relationship 😀

      Research has given me so much information and I really feel it’s going to enrich my story and characters so much more.

      Thanks for reading commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

