Home » Writing » We’re Blog Hopping!

We’re Blog Hopping!

So, I’ve been asked to participate in a blog hop by the lovely Elsie Elmore. I had no idea what a blog hop was, but had seen them around, so I have to say a BIG thank you to Elsie for being so patient with me and answering my questions on it 😀

The blog hop is about the creative process and, as most regular readers will know, I take a great interest in this and love to find out how other writers work.

1) What are you working on?

I am currently working on a historical romance piece. It’s a bit different to the other stories I’ve attempted to write before because I am setting it in a real location and time, rather then using a fantasy setting or paranormal setting to base my story in where I can get away with a lot more! 😀

2) How does your work differ from others in its genre?

That’s an interesting question. My writing tends to be quite condensed and concentrated, I focus on what I need to in order to get the story flowing along at a good pace. I’m not very good at bulking out my work by adding anything that seems even a little unnecessary. I think this is why the novella format suits me very well. So my romances tend to be heavily romance focused, but with a sub-plot that brings it all together.

3) Why do you write what you do?

Because I love romance. Who doesn’t? 😀 I enjoy reading about people coming together against all odds, or two people finding themselves under amazing circumstances. I enjoy the relationships and how they grow, and all the passion and sweetness that goes with it. The characters are what make a story great, and I think romance is one of the best and most interesting ways that show off characters, as it includes so much honest and intense interaction.

4) How does your writing process work?

I tend to start with a small idea which will usually quickly grow until I am frantically writing it down so as I don’t forget it! I keep all my ideas in a notebook and when I choose one, I usually write a very short summary of how I want it to be, just the beginning, middle and end. Then I work it up to a bit bigger of a summary, including characters. Then again I work it up to an even more detailed summary, adding scenes I definitely want, how the characters will evolve etc. Finally I work it up into a scene by scene plan so as I know everything that is going to happen.

My writing process is slightly odd in that I don’t write the scenes in order, I write them as I feel like. That’s why I need such a strict plan of scenes, so as when I randomly write about something happening in the middle of my story, I know exactly what’s happened before and what is yet to come and it all links up perfectly.

So there you have it. A glimpse into the way I work 😀 I hope you enjoyed it!

Check out the other author joining the hop:

chris-2
Chris grew up in Independence, MO. He attended college at Truman State University where he pursued his loves of theater, music, and the written word. Now, he makes his home in Kansas City, MO with his wife Christy and their four cats.

Aside from writing feverishly, he is an avid supporter of the Kansas City burlesque, performance, and arts communities. He is an occasional emcee, outspoken supporter of LGBTQ equality, pogonophile, and King of the Nerds. No, you didn’t vote for him; that’s why he’s king, not president.”

Links:
Website/blog: http://arnonechristopher.wix.com/chrismarnone
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chris-M-Arnone/212362302170417?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ChrisMArnone
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6971044.Chris_M_Arnone
Tumblr: http://chrismarnone.tumblr.com/

24 thoughts on “We’re Blog Hopping!

  1. I’ve tried a few blog hops, but they don’t accomplish what I want. I’ll be curious what you think when this one’s over. One exception is the #IWSG. Love that one.

    • It was good fun, the writing process is such a great thing to find out more about, everyone does it differently and you never know where you might find a new tip to try out 😀

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I find your writing process fascinating! So you plan everything out … and then just write? Do you ever encounter situations where you’re writing a scene, and get hit with this amazing brainwave that would necessitate re-planning half the book? And if so, do you then go back and re-write old scenes and plan out new scenes, or say “Thank you, brain, but I have my plot and I like it, so push off!”

    • That’s a good question 😀 There are times when I’m writing a scene and it takes off in an unexpected way, an I go with the flow on it and then have to re-work my plan to suit it. I think going with instinct is best, and if I write something that feels right but wasn’t planned, I will tend to favour that over what I had already!

      It is a bit of a bizarre way in which I write, but I do find it suits my brain well.

      Thanks for the question, gave me something to think of 😀

  3. It’s always interesting to me how writers go about their process. Everyone differs so much.

    I must confess, I’ve never really understood what blog hops were about!

    • Blog hops were confusing to me too, but it was nice to be asked and I liked the questions. Plus Elsie was so patient with me whilst I asked her what was going on 😀

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting 🙂

    • It is, isn’t it? Always enjoy when people write about their process, I nearly always pick up a new trick to try 😀 Would be interesting to find out how you plan at writing poems, or do you just go for it without planning? (I have no idea when it comes to poems! :D)

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Interesting question actually because I tend to plan far less when it comes to poems than I would with prose. Thank you for that, I love when people get me thinking about things I otherwise overlook. You may even have just given me a great idea for a future blog post! 😉

Leave a comment