Home » Book Review » March E-Book Review: The Shadow Watcher by Roari Benjamin

March E-Book Review: The Shadow Watcher by Roari Benjamin

The Shadow Watcher by Roari Benjamin

I chose this book because it sounded really original from the other ones I was looking at. And I wasn’t disappointed, it was a refreshing and different read.

The opening paragraph was really strong and got me hooked from the beginning. The first couple of chapters did explain a lot of back story, but it didn’t feel like it was piled onto me or bogged down the story, it still flowed nicely.

It was a fast-paced book, which I enjoyed a lot. I liked that things kept moving, there was no points where it felt stagnant or that it could have done with having anything cut out. Everything helped to move the plot along.

There were some great little moments throughout the entire book, nice bits of humour or description, but the way the author described how cats act was perfect and so spot on. There was one cat called Artemis, who was a character in herself, and she was brilliant, very well written.

In fact, all of the characters were good and individual. There was quite a wide cast characters and at times I did struggle to keep up with the names, but the important characters were clear.

The story itself was a very interesting concept, and there was a brilliant twist in the middle where you think you know what’s going on and then suddenly you’re turned around when you discover what is actually going on! That was fun.

Throughout the book there were lots of very unique and original ideas, which was nice. I didn’t see many clichéd moments and the author managed to come up with new takes on well known things such as technology, etc.

I don’t remember seeing many spelling errors throughout, so either they didn’t stand out or there weren’t any. Though the formatting was a little off at times, with the indents being at different spaces. Also, there was a lot of information at times, which was all explained very well, I just found it hard to remember what was going on at times, but in general the story flowed very nicely and uncomplicated.

The way the ending was written, I am guessing it is part of a series. It didn’t feel like too much of a cliff hanger, so I would have been happy to read it as a stand alone, but there is definitely a hint of either a sequel or an on-going series.

Overall though I really enjoyed it, I liked the fresh story, the interesting settings and the pace of the book.

Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

15 thoughts on “March E-Book Review: The Shadow Watcher by Roari Benjamin

  1. Sounds like a lovely book! I think I’m going to buy it and try it for myself… 😉
    Thank you for the great review!

    • Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I’m still learning how to write reviews well, I want to be honest and give my personal opinion, but without spoilers!

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

      • Perhaps a suggestion, then, from a fellow reviewer? 🙂 It would be great to hear a short synopsis of the book in the review, just so the reader knows what it’s about!

      • That would probably help, and is quite an obvious thing! Thank you so much, can’t believe I totally forgot that in all my reviews 😀 Definitely still learning.

        Thank you, again 🙂

  2. I like being taken by surprise. It’s fun trying to guess what’s going to happen, but when something comes out of the blue and blows your theories out of the water – well, it makes a refreshing change! Great review 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed the review. It is nice to be surprised, sometimes you get so certain about things in books, it’s great when something new comes along and takes you down a different path than expected 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

