Home » Uncategorized » Romance Weekly

Romance Weekly

It’s that time of the week already!

RW Banner

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favourite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

1. How do you find the appropriate setting for the story, or does it find you?

It tends to find me! I have a very vivid imagination, so when a story idea starts forming in my head I can tend to see the setting along with it almost straight away. As I write quite different sub-genres of romance, my settings do vary, the one I am writing at the moment was a real place so that had to have a lot of research, but my others are set in places where I had more freedom.

2. What is your support system for your writing? Family, friends, other writers?

My family is incredibly supportive, and I never would have started this journey without the unwavering support of my mum and sister. My best friend has always been encouraging and I couldn’t do this without him either, even when he has little time to himself he always finds time to help me. So thank you to them!

When I started this journey and blog, I also hoped to find fellow bloggers to maybe connect with and wow! The support is unbelievable. The writing community I have found through blogging is so helpful, optimistic, and supportive of each other it is so motivating.

There is also a group of ladies on facebook I chat to, and I know I can always turn to them when I run into specific problems. They are a great group and such fun to chat with, so thank you to them also: Winterbayne, Taylor Grace, Nancy H. Doyle, Sonia Lathem.

3. What is the worst writing advice you ever received and how did you deal with it?

Hm, I’m not sure 😀 I am pretty happy to take advice wherever I find it. Though there has been a couple of articles lately on the awful and terrible adverb. I tend to gloss over that advice, because personally I don’t mind an adverb or two, and I encourage writers to write how they want and not always focus on the advice given out by publishers or ‘real’ writers who say everyone should write in a certain way.

Sometimes, you got to break rules to create something incredible.

Now find out what Leslie Hachtel has to say on the subject!

Also, a big GOOD LUCK to all those participating in CampNaNoWriMo this month and those doing the A-Z blog challenge. You are brave people! 😀

Progress Report

Word Count: 7720 (41,605 total word count).

Status of Third Manuscript: Writing first draft (will it ever end? :D).

37 thoughts on “Romance Weekly

  1. For every rule there is, you hear of someone who’s broken it. I tend to think of then as guidelines but not something set in stone. If we all write the same way and stick to the same rules, that would be pretty boring.

    • Very true, if everyone followed the advice that is given, then everyone’s books would be the same, and how would you find something new to enjoy?

      Looking at it as guidelines is the best approach.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • You got to be willing to do it to make your writing that much better at times, I mean some of the advice out there is good, I’m not saying ignore everything 😀 Just take what you want from all the guidelines out there to improve what you feel you need to.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I loved what you said about support and advice. There is so much great support in this community.

    I was horribly intimidated by the many advice articles I read when I first started this blogging journey. I wanted more knowledge but everything I read seemed to say I was doing it all wrong. Five Die Hard Rules to Follow When Writing, Don’t Push the Publish Button Until, Ten Phases of Novel Writing, and so on…Then, it occurred to me. These are merely suggestions, not rules writers must live by. Readers make the rules, not writers. Reading is a subjective experience. They have been polled and studied, as have their purchases. As a writer, it all boils down to what you are most comfortable with, and what your readers enjoy. I am not discounting the helpful suggestions, I am just saying that there is no need to fear, no reason to be intimidated. Chances are, if you enjoy writing it, someone will enjoy reading it.

    • I completely agree, there are lots of articles out there saying what you should and shouldn’t do, but in the end it’s up to you as a writer. It’s your work, you need to do what feels comfortable, and that will show through your writing. In the end, it’s about producing a great story that people will enjoy, not if you followed all the ‘right rules’ 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. I too would find the question on the worst writing advice hard to answer. I read things and then mull them over. All thoughts welcome for consideration, not all will be used.

    • Yeah, I am happy to accept any advice given as I am eager to improve. Though I like to have last say whether I use it or not 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. The freaking adverb! I still carve them out every time I read through my stuff. I can’t resist them. They tempt me.

    • They are tempting, and easy to use without realising 😀 I don’t worry that much though, I don’t think readers notice much, they’re kinda like dialogue tags, that people read but skip over in their mind.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. I love when a setting comes to me while I’m thinking of a story. It just makes the whole writing process so much easier. I really like your advice for adverbs. It wouldn’t be as fun if everyone wrote the same way. I usually enjoy unique stories, and I like if it’s written slightly different than what’s considered normal. Makes it more fun. 🙂

    • I do enjoy when a setting just pops into my head along with the story, it helps a lot in not having to spend hours thinking one up! Unless of course it is somewhere real, in which case I tense at the thought of the hours of research ahead! But then, all research is worth it 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed it 😀 Yeah, the rules are there to help, sure, but not to be looked at as written in stone. I say you just got to write, and have fun, and not try to tailor your writing to what others say or your writing won’t end up being your own.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. I really like the answer to question #3, and this is something I can relate to. I disagree when published writers or literary professionals try to convince unpublished or new writers how they should write, structure, or mold their story to fit the mainstream or what they think will make them successful. I think one of the biggest mistakes any writer can make is trying to fit the mold and not being true to themselves. To me, they lose their voice–their creatively. And I also love the statement at the end! Another great post!!!

    • Glad you enjoyed it, and I totally agree. There is so much more open to writers now, I think it’s a shame when they make us worry so much about what’s supposed to be ‘right’ when writing. It’s better to let it flow and enjoy it, and that’s what will show through in the end.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. One of the things I’ve always kept in mind; for every rule of writing out there, there’s someone who’s made something great by breaking it.

    It’s been really great to see you embark on your journey towards a writer’s life. Hopefully I’ll continue being actually useful to you the whole way.

Leave a Reply

