Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly

Romance Weekly

Some more questions for this week πŸ™‚

RW Banner

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favourite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

1. Who is your favourite character you’ve written and why?

Hm, I’m almost ashamed to admit that my favourite character to write was a bad guy πŸ˜€

In Stolen, my first novella, my antagonist was my favourite. He was a complex character, but I could still have fun writing him and playing around with him throughout the story.

2. Do you prefer to write your Hero or Heroine?

I don’t generally write from my hero’s point of view just the heroine’s, so I’m biased to the female character. But writing from a hero POV is something I plan to do, and I think it will be great fun to learn and experience.

3. What are the three things you can’t write without?

1. A cup of tea, it’s a need not a want!
2. A plan– I am a major planner, so I need one at my side constantly as I write.
3. Quiet– I can’t write when there’s a lot of noise or chatter.

So there you have it, some more great questions answered and a little more insight into my writer world πŸ˜€

Now check out what Amy Jarecki has to say in response to these.

Progress Report

Status of Third Manuscript: With readers. 2 out of 3 copies back.

April E-Book Review: Book read. Review ready.

34 thoughts on “Romance Weekly

  1. I’m the same way about writing the bad guy. This character is almost always my fave. In the upcoming The Cat Lady’s Secret, the news reporter is just a guy doing his job–he isn’t really a bad guy. But he poses a threat to the main character, so all my preliminary readers hate him. That’s the reaction I was going for. Whew!

    • It’s great when we write a character and they turn out exactly how we intended, and the reader instantly understands what they are supposed to be like within the story πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I think you’re right, you definitely have more freedom with what you can do when writing the bad guy πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. I love to hate the villains in my story! I suppose it’s natural to fall for your characters good or bad; I’m sure your readers would share the same affection as you do. It reminds me of Loki in Thor (and maybe because Tom is just so amazing). His character is despicable; a complex and multifaceted villain, yet his popularity is unmistakable. Sorry for being a geek and using that example, but you get my point. Sometimes when we write a character they take on a life of their own and you can’t help but love them πŸ™‚

    • I get you point exactly, and Loki is actually a perfect example to use πŸ˜€ Bad guys aren’t jut bad guys anymore, it’s nice to make them complex and real as characters, so as the reader can understand their motivation, even if it’s not a good motivation!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. I envy those of you than can really plan. When I plan, I get stuck. 😦 Great post. Also, it’s a funny thing about bad guys. I think we all enjoy writing them. Although I tend to turn mine into good guys at some point.

    • Everyone’s method of writing is different, some people have no plan at all and just go with it as the story develops! πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I’ve never heard of that, think I will definitely give it a go though. Trying out anything new is good with me πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • They are great, you can pretty much do whatever you like with bad guys, where as sometimes the heroes are still so restricted πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Quiet! Oh, I love quiet when I write. Now, if i could just convince my husband that coming into the room and saying “Don’t let me bother you, I’m just getting coffee.” Is as annoying as coming through with a brass band!

  5. I can’t write when there’s a ton of noise either! If there’s to much talking around me I am more interested in what others are saying than my own writing. It’s so distracting!

Leave a Reply

