Home » Writing » My plans! My beautiful plans…

My plans! My beautiful plans…

How can it be so close to the end of April? When did that happen? πŸ˜€

As April is quickly dwindling away I realise I am probably not going to get my books published before the end of the month, but that’s ok. You got to go with the flow with writing, right? And I would rather wait until May and publish great, well-edited books rather than shove them out before they’re completely ready.

Even though they’re novellas, I want these books to be remembered for the quality of both writing and editing.

So, I’m going with the flow. (Hyperventilating slightly that I’m off schedule though, I really like being on schedule! :D).

Anyway, next week is my week of final read-outs. I will sit down with others and read through all 3 books aloud for a final-final edit. I have read and edited these books so many times I could probably do it by heart now!

So, today and the rest of the week I will be going back to editing Stolen and The Queen’s Jester thoroughly, yet again. I put them away for a good while so as I could come back to them with fresh eyes and wow!

It’s really weird picking up a book I wrote a while back and re-reading it now πŸ˜€ It’s fun, just odd.

I’ve learnt SO much since writing Stolen, from reading all of your blogs and tips, and looking into articles on making my writing better. It’s nice to come back to the first book I wrote and go over it again now with what I’ve learnt. I think it’s going to make a big difference, and that was part of the reason for publishing these 3 books at once at a later date, so as they are all released to a high standard and not rushed.

It feels like I wrote these two books so long ago, and it’s nice to return to them now and read over what I’ve written and achieved. I have a renewed excitement for getting my stories and characters out into the world and hoping that readers love them as much as I do πŸ™‚

It’s also great to be able to take all my new knowledge on editing, writing, formatting and all the great tips I’ve gained and apply them to these books. They are really whipping up into shape now!

Also, as I have now almost finished doing everything on my third manuscript, I will be changing my progress report to update on my publishing status. I don’t know if you guys enjoy the progress report I do at the bottom of posts, I hope you do πŸ˜€ But it’s a great way for me to keep up with where I am and note down a record of it to look back on πŸ™‚

Have you ever read back over older work and been excited about it? Do you enjoy re-reading books you’ve written? How is your progress for this month?

Progress Report

Publishing status:
> Stolen- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> The Queen’s Jester- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> Third Manuscript- Editing, 2/3 copies back from readers. (Still to do: Final edits, cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).

April E-Book Review: Book read. Review ready.

60 thoughts on “My plans! My beautiful plans…

  1. Well done on the progress! And I hear you about rather waiting a bit longer and going with the flow than submitting/releasing something that isn’t as good as what you can do. Good luck with getting everything ready and published when you can! April has definitely been a weird month for me, with my burn out that is still going on regarding my academic writing, though I hope that by mid May I’ll be back to normal!

    • Burn out is such a bad thing, but when you can get back to the writing you love it feels all the better, good luck with! πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. I dig your progress reports! I considered stealing the idea for my own posts. I’m staying at Monday Updates for now though along with my status bars on the side of my index page.

    I usually cringe when I come back to my writing. However, that means I’ve learned new things and can potentially make it better. Still rather painful experience though.

    • I like the status bars people have, I think it’s a great way to see how people are getting along πŸ˜€

      Having to look over old work with a fresh critical eye can be painful, but I just try to think of how much better and more amazing it’s going to be in the end because of all the effort we put into it!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you like them πŸ˜€ It’s a great way to see how much I have left to do, and look back and see how much I’ve achieved. It can be very motivating πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the encouragement, I think it’s the right choice to wait and get them out later and the work to be better for it πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. I love to re-read work when it’s been left sitting for a while; it’s a great feeling to read something you wrote and to be struck by a nice phrase, or a glaring error, or whatever it is, and to think: hey, I’m a writer. *I wrote this.* When you’ve left it just long enough so it’s unfamiliar, it’s a strange but exhilarating feeling to read it over with a fresher eye. Not that it’s happened to me in a while, mind you – but I’m hopeful it’ll happen again soon. πŸ™‚

    • You’re exactly right, that’s the feeling πŸ˜€ It’s great to sit down and read it, knowing that I wrote it and being proud of that fact πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. I agree–much better to have the books in really good shape than to push to get the out by a self-set deadline. You asked if we ever looked back on an older manuscript and got excited. Once, I told a publisher about an older manuscript before I’d looked at it again. When I dug it out, I found out it was TERRIBLE!! Like, so terrible, I didn’t even want to fix it! LOL! I’m glad you’ve got the “whip it into shape” perspective. That’s a much better attitude to have. πŸ˜€

    • I know how you feel, I did look back on a story I wrote when I was about 15 once, that was awful, so awful I just couldn’t read past the first page πŸ˜€ Thankfully it’s been a long time since then!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  5. Good luck with that final stretch of editing! Hope it all turns out the way you wish (though you’ll probably still notice little things you could’ve/should’ve/would’ve improved if you’d had more time as soon as you read the “published” version, that’s just the nature of things I think) and I look forward to reading your work. πŸ™‚

    • I think there’s always something, even in traditionally published books. Though I guess in self-publishing books you can at least take the book down and fix it πŸ˜€

      Just got a bit further to go, but then the last stretch is always the hardest they say!

      Thank you for the encouragement πŸ™‚

    • It is a lot, but hopefully I will get there in the end πŸ˜€ All that hard work has to pay off eventually, right?

      Thank you for the encouragement and thank you for reading and commenting, glad you like the blog πŸ™‚

  6. I reread as I go along (and edit) so many times, by the time the first draft is done I have to put it aside for a year then reread it and have others read it. I always enjoy that read. It is like WOW, I really did this thing πŸ™‚ Great luck with your books and publishing! I enjoy your progress reports. So well organized! πŸ™‚

    • It is really fun going back and re-reading work you’ve done, it feels like such an accomplishment, and it great to celebrate those things πŸ˜€

      Thank you for the encouragement, and for commenting πŸ™‚

  7. Congratulations on all the great progress you’ve made, this is such an exciting time for you and I can’t wait to read your work πŸ™‚

    As for re-reading old projects, whether for good or bad reasons, it’s certainly always interesting! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! It is very exciting πŸ˜€ Just a lot of hard work in a short amount of time!

      It definitely is interesting re-reading my old work, I don’t like to read stuff that is too old though. That is just painful sometimes πŸ˜€

      Thank you for you support, and commenting πŸ™‚

  8. I like the progress report at the end of your posts. I think it’s a great idea. As for reading back old work, it always surprises me when I do that and find something wonderful. Sure, you find a lot of stuff that makes you cringe but the good stuff you see? Definitely worth it. You’re so close to your goal–good luck!

    • It is nice to read back through and think. ‘I really wrote this!’ πŸ˜€ Though there are also times when I groan and think, ‘oh dear, I wrote this’, lol. Always got to take the good with the bad!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • Exactly, better to take the time and make sure it’s right before putting it out there into the world. Definitely would rather put out something I’m proud of, then rush it and be disappointed πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  9. I’ve read here and there that one of the problems with self-publishing is that authors often publish before they are ready. I think the care and hard work will pay off, and the waiting. Well done! Looking forward to how it goes once you are ready to let them go.

    • I guess it’s easy to get overwhelmed by the excitement of wanting to get the stories out there, but after putting so much heart and soul into the writing I really want them to be the best they can be πŸ˜€ Hopefully it will be worth the effort of waiting and doing it when they’re ready!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  10. Great job getting as far as you have. I agree it’s better to wait a little than to release them too soon before they are thoroughly edited. I think it’s a lot of fun going back and reading something I haven’t touched in a while. It allows me to go in with a fresh set of eyes and perhaps catch something I hadn’t caught before, and sometimes, I just get to enjoy the story instead of worrying about writing it. Congratulations! πŸ˜€ Great post!

    • It is fun to look over these stories, there were bits I’d forgotten about that were actually quite good if I say so myself πŸ˜€ And I think it’s nice to be surprised like that, it’s also incredibly motivating. Now I just got to get it all done!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  11. I admire how you’ve kept books back until you felt they were ready. I’m in awe at that amount of self-restraint. I think that’s amazing. I’m also impressed with your courage posting goals. Excellent post!

    • I think it’s going to be wroth holding them back until they’re ready, even if I am incredibly excited to get my stories out into the world πŸ˜€ I’m really hoping having that patience pays off in the end.

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • Don’t worry about the edits, you take your time on them! I don’t want it stressing you out seeing as you’re doing me such a huge favour with πŸ˜€ Plus, not like I haven’t got a million other writing related things I have to get done!

      Thank you for all your support, and comments πŸ™‚

  12. It’s definitely better to be patient with yourself and get it to perfection, as painstaking as that is! I do sometimes go back and re-read some of my older stuff that’s never seen the light of day (and for good reason haha). Although it can be cringe-worthy at times, it reminds me how far I’ve come as a writer πŸ™‚ Best of luck with your revisions!

  13. Definitely keep us posted with your progress reports–it’s great to hear how you’re doing. I too enjoy re-reading my stories–it’s live reliving an adventure all over again. It’s exciting to hear your novellas are getting close to being published. For me, I won’t be able to get back to my stories until August, but I really need to have them edited by others before reaching the publishing step. Congratulations!!!

    • I know how you feel, I couldn’t go without my stories being edited by others. I am very lucky to have 3 very different readers who all pick up on different aspects of story and writing.

      I bet August will be here before you know it, especially with the way this year is just whipping by! πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  14. ” And I would rather wait until May and publish great, well-edited books rather than shove them out before they’re completely ready.”

    This. Right here. So much. In the grand scheme of things, a month delay on publishing doesn’t make that much of a different on “getting stuff done,” but it can make a WORLD of different for the work itself. Better to push it to a later date until it’s ready than pushing it out of the nest too soon. Good luck with all the edits. It can be such a rewarding and challenging experience all in one.

    I can feel you on the fresh eyes, too. I just went back to type up a story that I had written that I thought was so good and as I typed it up, I was really astonished by how lackluster it really was. Meanwhile, as I type up the first draft of the novel I thought was really quite terrible, I’m discovering it’s actually pretty good. Go figure. It’s amazing what a few weeks can do to change your perspective. Part of the fun of writing, I suppose, and proof that ours is a job that will never quite be completely finished.

    • It’s always fun to look back over work, the good with the bad though πŸ˜€

      It’s encouraging to see what we’ve written and also, the fact we can make it better because we have gone back to it with fresh eyes!

      Being able to go over the story and make that much more amazing because we’ve put the time and effort into it.

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  15. Best of luck and no need to rush anything – it’s good to have a polished product instead of publishing too early.

    My progress is nil this month because I’ve been too busy working on the house – hopefully next month I’ll get back to my WIPs πŸ˜‰

    • Well, working on the house is good excuse for not writing πŸ˜€ It is generally more important sometimes to get those things up together before you can concentrate properly on writing.

      Hope things go well πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

    • The waiting is a struggle at times, especially when I am so excited about getting my stories and characters out there. But it is best to wait and produce the best work I can!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • It’s a fun thing to do, to go back and look at what you’ve created with a fresh set of eyes. You get to see all the good things (as well as the inevitable bad stuff too :D).

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  16. I enjoyed reading this post. It’s very helpful to read of the work that goes into publishing one’s work. I find the editing part most difficult and still find mistakes long after I’ve released my post to the world. Thank you for stopping by to visit Willy Nilly and for allowing me to visit you as well.

    • Editing is a struggle a times, and the longest most tedious part. But it’s worth it in the end when you see your work so incredible and polished πŸ˜€

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

  17. I have mixed feelings about re-reading my books. Sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised and other times I cringe. The advice you give about being ready to publish is spot on. I published the Conduit too early and I’m not happy with how it turned out. I suppose it can be classed as a learning curve!

    • You have to learn as you go I think with writing, but I am learning gradually πŸ˜€ And I am learning a lot of things from what other writers have done and experienced.

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  18. I’ve just recently read an older fiction piece that I had started a couple of years ago but never finished. (Do you guys have any of those;=) I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I actually laughed and spoke to some of my characters aloud. I did notice that There is some growth as far as the characters and subject matter I wrote about then oppose to now but, that’s a good thing πŸ˜‰

    Be A Blessing!

    LaTrice

    • It is nice to look back on old stuff and really enjoy it, and see what you wrote. But yeah, to also see how much you’ve grown and improved in writing πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

