Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly

Romance Weekly

RW Banner

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favourite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

1. What is the most unusual thing you’ve ever done in the name of research for a book?

Hm, I don’t think I’ve actually ever done anything that unusual. I haven’t had to do anything weird for my books and research… yet 😀

2. Name a non-fiction book you’ve read for research that you wouldn’t have read otherwise. Not including writing craft books.

Roman Art and Architecture by Mortimer Wheeler. Not the most exciting book in the world, but very interesting. I don’t normally read books on architecture, but I learned a lot reading this one, and I think it really helped for writing my historical romance.

3. If you could travel anywhere to do research for a book, including back in time, where would you go?

Oh! Possibly medieval times (a popular answer I am guessing :D), I’d like to see what it was actually like and how the social structure really worked. Also, to get a real feel of the environment would be awesome.

A great set of questions for this week. Now visit LaNora Mangano and see how she answered 🙂

Progress Report

Publishing status:
> Stolen- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> The Queen’s Jester- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> Third Manuscript- Editing, 2/3 copies back from readers. (Still to do: Final edits, cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).

April E-Book Review: Book read. Review ready.

46 thoughts on “Romance Weekly

  1. I’ve done some weird and crazy research, but not all of it has been for my books. Sometimes I’ll begin researching something for a book and then go off on a wild tangent. Probably why I don’t get a lot of writing done. I’d like to travel back to medieval times, but only to the romanticized version you’re talking about. 🙂

    • That’s the only problem with research, you can easily get sidetracked by other info or interesting facts and new ideas start forming!

      Yes, definitely the romanticised version. Full of lovely dresses and handsome knights only 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Probably the 21Century version of medieval times is far more palatable! Lack of education for girls; imagine not being able to read and having to work from day break till dusk…. Not for me!

    • Don’t think I would have done well in a time like that, but it would be interesting to take a peek and then get to come home 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. So nice to discover your blog ! (And thanks for finding me over at Roughwighting). I write romantic suspense. For the latest one, I actually had to research about methamphetamine. (Finding the ‘bad’ guys who were transporting it into the US was the suspense part of my book…!). Anyway, it was creepy research, because I learned a lot more than I had planned, finding out that there are some horrible sites on the internet about the drug and how to make it. BUT I found lots of good material (and ideas) for my book.

  4. I’ve actually taken a trip specifically for research, which was pretty cool, and I’d love to do it again. If I could time travel for research, I’d go with Victorian London. These Tuesday things are fun. I need to find the site to sign up!

    • You’re very lucky, I’d love to take a trip for research 😀 Just now have to start earning some money so as I can do that!

      Victorian London would be pretty awesome, and much less busy which would be nice.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. I’d love to go to Versailles for research, I had hoped to go this spring, but no. Perhaps in the autumn. As to visiting the medieval world I think the one thing to get me would be the smell. No matter how much lavender bloomed by the privy it wouldn’t have been a nice place.. The lack of music would be dreadful too. No radio, no CD’s, no play list, the only music was what you could make yourself, or if you were rich you could hire musicians. I won’t get on to the medical issues. The armour and gowns look beautiful but I don’t think they would make up for the rest.

    • It would be nice to go back to these times just to see if archaeologists and historians have got the things about social structure and normal life right though. That’s what interests me 😀

      Versailles looks so beautiful, I have never gone, but I can imagine it would be a fabulous trip!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. I read for research, but haven’t traveled anywhere yet. The prospect of doing that is very exciting, however. And I think I’d join you on the medieval jaunt, but I’d want to go equipped with the knowledge that I have now 🙂

    • The pictures were beautiful, some of the wall frescos were incredible! 😀 I can see why people want to go visit in real life.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. I would love to visit just about any time in the past….just to see how the servants were treated. There are lots of castles that show how the gentry lived, but servant life is hidden.

    • The life of normal, everyday people would be fascinating to see. Historians don’t go on about them much, as you say. Guess they just weren’t as important to note down in history, which is kinda sad!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. I also wouldn’t mind a quick look at a medieval village back in the day. But I agree that the sights and smells might be revolting! 😀
    Great interview!

  9. I’d love to go back in time and experience a day in just about any era. To be able to gain first hand knowledge that way would be a wonderful learning experience and form a greater connection to the past. Nice answers 🙂

Leave a Reply

