Home » Writing » April 2014 Round-up and May plan

April 2014 Round-up and May plan

So, it’s May! How did that happen? 😀

It’s time for my monthly round-up and plan for this month, let’s have a look at how I did.

So, for April:

– Well, the biggest thing was that I didn’t get to publish my books at end of April as planned. But, as I say, I would rather wait and put them out at the best they can possibly be! 🙂
– I posted every scheduled day (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday).
– Read 4 books, a good amount for me.
– Found some great new blogs
– Connected more with regular bloggers 🙂

April has felt like such a busy month, and I don’t think May is going to be any better. If I can offer advice to anyone, it would be don’t publish 3 books at once 😀 I understand the benefits of doing it, especially as a new author, but blimey! It’s hard work!

So, looking ahead to May:

3rd-4th- Work on photos for covers.

5-9th- Final read outs of Stolen and The Queen’s Jester.

10th-16th- Produce covers/Work on blurbs/Formatting

17th-23rd- Work on marketing material/Author pages on Amazon and other platforms/Get everything organised and together 😀

29th- May E-Book Review

End of May- Publish books? (Hopefully!)

Hey, maybe this will be the month? It would be nice to think so 😀

I have to say a MASSIVE thank you so much to you guys for being so supportive! Your comments and emails really keep me motivated, and your blog posts help to keep me inspired! This writing and blogging community is such a great place to be a part of 🙂

Progress Report

Publishing status:
> Stolen- Final read out. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).
> The Queen’s Jester- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> Third Manuscript- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).

May E-Book Review: Book chosen.

43 thoughts on “April 2014 Round-up and May plan

  1. Good luck with all your projects! And that’s been quite a productive April for you! April has been a weird month for me, because of the burnout (I hope it’ll fade away in May, I really hope so). At least I was able to turn in my finished book to the editor and finish to polish another chapter for another publication, that the other editor declared completed. Blogging remained consistent, so that’s always something. In May, I hope to post some call for collaborations on my website and to start/complete a book proposal to submit for consideration at a few possible publishers. I kind of miss being crazy busy!

    • Hope May is a good, productive month for you, without the burnout! Sounds like a busy month ahead, but that might be fun 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Hey good luck! I am also struggling with a book that doesnt seem to want to get published so I know how it feels to see another month go by with no book to show for it! Lets hope May will be good to us!

  3. You have an ambitious schedule, but I can feel your excitement and dedication to accomplishing your goals. Sending you wishes for success in meeting them. You’re right to wait until something is polished and ready rather than jumping in sooner than you’re ready. Good luck!

      • I can imagine! I hope to keep writing poetry and post a mixture of poems and topics on my blog every other day. I’m also hoping to really knuckle down with my fiction WIP. I’ve had a lot on with my freelance writing lately that’s been good work wise but distracting in terms of creative writing. I’m hoping I’ll really get going with that soon 🙂

  4. That’s very kind of you to say 🙂 And yes, I must admit that however much I love and feel blessed to be writing for a living, it’s the creative side of things that really excites me 🙂

    • I do like making plans, I like to set goals and the feeling of accomplishment when (if!) I achieve them 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • A few majorly busy for me, but hopefully it will be worth it in the end 😀

      Hope your May goes good as well!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. You know I’m here to help if you have questions! I know I went into this half-blind, and it was a goddamned doozey. But all the best of luck to you, with or without my help. ;]

    • I think I will be definitely taking you up on that offer, thank you very much for offering! Any advice I can get from someone who’s been there is going to be a big help 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the kind words! Hopefully all the hard work will pay off in the end 😀

      Have you got much going on in May?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. You’re right not to publish them if they aren’t ready. It sounds like you’ve had a fairly productive month. Good luck with everything 🙂

    • April was busy but I think I managed to get some done 😀

      Hope you have a great May too! Have you got much going on?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • It is very exciting, but very nerve-wracking at the same time 😀

      Hope you have a good May, and reach your goals too.

      Is it a busy month for you in May?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. Best of luck – you certainly have a lot planned. I can write three books at the same time, but I certainly can’t publish three books at the same time 😉

    • Yeah, writing the books was the fun part, getting all 3 ready for publishing is not so fun. But hopefully it will all be worth it in the end and the hard work will pay off!

      Can’t wait to get back to writing though, especially if I had a lovely reader’s nook like yours! Not that I’m totally jealous or anything 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. It is a great thing to be part of, and the support you give is an inspiration in itself. Good luck with the plans. It’s an exciting time for you and I couldn’t be happier that you’ve almost reached your goal 🙂

    • I hope it goes smoothly too 😀 After not meeting last month’s goal, I am super motivated to meet them this month!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. I’m excited to hear all that you have accomplished in April and plan to in May. No matter what you will reach your goals and I can’t wait to see what you accomplish in May! Best wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

