Home » Writing » New Story on the Block…

New Story on the Block…

Photo by TempusVolat on Flickr

Photo by TempusVolat on Flickr

I’m bursting with a story idea.

I mean practically exploding with it!

I spent all of yesterday starting to plan it out and getting down characters and plot, which was naughty because I take the weekends off from writing, blogging, tech etc. But I just couldn’t help myself!

This month is all about focusing on getting my editing and books up together ready for publishing. Yet, I miss writing so much, it’s actually quite unbelievable. I have been starting to jot down scenes for my next book just so as I can do some kind of writing.

Normally this wouldn’t be a problem, except I really wanted to just focus on formatting and getting the stories I have written ready for publishing. I like to focus on one book at a time, and give my full concentration to it. Yet, lately, always in the back of my mind is this new story trying to sneak into the forefront of my focus.

I am so excited about getting back to writing. Obviously I want to get my other books out there into the world, but it’s the writing that keeps us going, right? I mean, I wouldn’t have made a good choice of career if I weren’t chomping at the bit to write my next project.

Even after a splurge day yesterday of planning and plotting, I still can’t stop thinking about it!

I guess I will just have to go with the flow and get my books ready, whilst letting these new characters start to form in my head. I sure will be ready to go when I finally can get back to starting a new story!

It’s a good thing I like eating, sleeping and breathing writing! I pretty much think that’s my life now 🙂

Have you ever had a story idea not leave you alone? Do you like to finish one project completely before moving onto the next? Does writing completely consume your life too? 😀

Progress Report

Publishing status:
> Stolen- Final read out. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).
> The Queen’s Jester- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, final read-out, formatting, marketing).
> Third Manuscript- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).

May E-Book Review: Book chosen.

76 thoughts on “New Story on the Block…

    • I do find it easier to focus on one task at a time, then I can get things finished fully. But yeah, that flush of excitement when starting something new is just awesome! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • When inspiration strikes, you have to take it! 😀 You’re right. And I do love it when stories wriggle their way into my mind, those are the most fun!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  1. I know. I really wanted to focus on my current story, and to prioritize getting that first draft done, but lately another story and two characters from a completely different time and setting have entered the scene and become really distracting. I did like you, I also wrote down my notes and ideas for their story and I was planning to return to my current novel afterwards, but they keep coming back. I think they’re great characters and I can’t wait to get to know them better, but really…people…I’m sort of in the middle of something here! 😉

    • Exactly! 😀 Try to concentrate on another project and BAM! A whole new story and set of characters come to me easily. Try and sit down and think of something and I rarely get anything!

      Just have to go with the flow on those moments I guess, it’s nice to have inspiration when you can get it 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I’m actually going thru the ‘won’t leave me alone’ stage with the series I’m currently writing. I keep having cool ideas for other angles/points in history – I just allow myself to scribble the general ideas down and go back to my WIP. It’s exhilarating though, knowing that you have more to offer on the story-telling front!

  3. I’m at the same point right now. I’m trying to get old stuff whipped into shape, and the new ideas keep knocking. The old characters keep making demands too.

    • It is great but also exhausting! 😀 Trying to finish one project but having all that excitement to start a new one. At least we will have all the ideas ready to go when we get the chance to write them, right?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. Congrats on your return to writing and working through your idea. Whenever I get a story idea, I write it down in a file. But I find that I need to keep working on one project, especially at a certain point. I’m too immersed in the characters’ world and in their heads to move on to something else.

    • I know how you feel, I love getting immersed into a new project, all those setting and characters draw me in there and keep me stuck 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. I’m in the same spot! I have been plotting and planning and now the characters for book 5 are bursting to materialize. A strange thing was that last week characters from book 6 wouldn’t leave me alone until I took a lot of notes on them. I always have more than one going at a time. Best of luck with your fertile creation time!

    • I can’t even imagine where to begin if writing a series 😀 I admire your ability to think of so many thing at once!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. I so understand what you’re saying. I’ve been bursting to get back to my WIP–I’m so close to finishing–but I had to get some summer workshops put together, which took a lot longer than I had hoped. Now, this week, it’s back to writing!

    • I am impressed by how much you do, with all those amazing blog posts you produce as well! Have fun with getting back to writing 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. I like to work through one project at a time. This was a conscious decision prompted by the many unfinished projects I have around the house. 🙂 I knew if I allowed myself to jump from one to the other, I would never finish anything. That’s not to say I don’t take nots when something new hits me though.

    • I know exactly what you mean. I have to focus on one thing at a time, or I can easily get lost with the many unfinished projects I can accumulate! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. Haha, yeah, I always feel the Muse becomes strongest when I’m trying really hard to focus on OTHER projects. Definitely follow that Muse; we have to tend to them when they arrive, lest we lose them again, but also find a good balance with the real work at hand. Sometimes, the Muse tempts us away, so I find it’s really important that I set myself a goal with the editing, and I don’t let myself play with the new stuff until that goal is met. Then, I have all the free time in the world to explore the new ideas bouncing in my head, but I’ve still gotten some solid work done on the Big Main Project, too.

    • I think that is a great idea. I definitely have to stick with editing and getting my stuff ready, but I will make sure and note everything I think of ready for my next book. All that enthusiasm over writing can really spur me on 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. I can sense your intensity, Mishak, its rising off the screen. Yes, I have had stories that woke me up at night nagging me to write just a bit more. I like to have several things going at once, my favourtie scenario is editing one book pre submission while I am building another story. Everything stops for publisher edits but other than that its wonderful to have a story in full flow. 🙂

    • I do love writing, I think my passion for it can be a bit overwhelming for others at times though 😀

      I really can’t wait to get back to writing. But yeah, edits are important and need to take focus!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  10. Think “Spirograph.” If you’re working at the right speed, you won’t jump a gear tooth when you loop to a new idea, and you’ll navigate safely back to where you started.

  11. Glad you’re engrossed Harliqueen. I am too, only thing is my writing doesn’t pay the bills, so I’m having to look for a day job. Hopefully it will be something that won’t interfere too much with the writing side of life:))

    • Job hunting can be so draining and exhausting! Good luck with it! Hope you can find something, and then get back to writing 😉

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  12. I like to pursue one project at a time, but sometimes it can’t be helped, and we have to put our focus elsewhere. I find the story creation phase invigorating. Thoughts constantly pouring in, whether we’re in front of the computer or in the shower. Happy story planning!

    • Planning and finding ideas for a new story can be very consuming, and yes, ideas do seem to spring up anywhere, even the shower 😀 I get so engrossed in projects I work on, my focus has to be one at a time!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  13. I love that feeling when a story is just bursting from you and it’s almost no work to get down because everything is just fitting together and the ideas are flowing like wine.

    • It is such an amazing feeling, isn’t it? Those are definitely the stories that are the best to write, they are just bursting to be told and even my brain can’t contain them 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  14. It’s so fun when stories explode into being! This happened to me not long ago and totally interrupted my priority project–but it was so worth it!

    • And sometimes they literally do explode into being 😀 But I think those are the stories that are some of the best, as they are just demanding to be written!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • That works 😀 Though I am exactly the same in other areas of my life like you, too. I have a few crafting projects half finished, as well as a few art projects! At least in writing I tend to be (a little) more focused!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  15. Yes, yes, and yes! Last month, I took a break in writing to do the final edits for all my books and finally get of my tuckus and start trying to submit queries. However, as soon as I started re-reading the very first book, a story idea popped into my head. And for the next three days, I had new ideas. So, now, I’m stuck with four unwritten books just running around in my brain at all hours of the day and night, yet I’m still trying to focus only on the one written that needs my attention at the moment. Good luck! 😀

  16. I don’t have to finish one story/book to begin writing the next. I have several unfinished projects now and one going through the editing phase. I read that way as well. I can’t imagine being limited to one story at a time. My mind does not operate that way at all. Happy writing!

    • I am in awe of people like you who can focus on so many projects at once! I think my brain would get too easily jumbled 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • New story ideas always get me excited, I do love the planning stages, but then I also love being able to get those characters onto paper too 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  17. Inspiration always comes at the ‘wrong’ moment, which is to say precisely the right moment. The best ideas stay with you while some, which seem the best at the time, simply fizzle and die after a day or two.

    • You have a good point. If an idea sticks around, then it’s probably the story that you should be pursuing 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  18. Inspiration can be a powerful thing. A useful one, to. It’s definitely a good idea to take advantage of it the few times it strikes. Just… make sure you keep your eyes on the prize here. You’re so close to finally being published, the goal you’ve been working towards for so long! There’s nothing wrong with taking some time to work on your new idea. You definitely don’t want to let the inspiration fade! Get down your ideas, planning, and everything else you’re being imparted right now. Just make sure you keep momentum up on getting your books ready for the world, too.

    • You’re right. I got to make sure and not lose focus on what my goals are for this month 😀 I have jotted down ideas and begun planning my next book, so I think I will try to leave it alone now and stick to editing and formatting, etc my others. I am excited to get them out into the world!

      Thank you for your support 🙂

  19. In reply to your three questions: Yes, yes, and YES!!!

    I rarely can work on only one project or book at a time. My brain is constantly whirring wit new ideas, which can make finishing one project difficult, especially when it interrupts my timeline.

    But I never neglect new ideas, because they’re more likely to be forgotten. So I always find a way to jot them down.

    I’m excited that you’ve gotten some great new inspiration! Keep it up!

    • I’m the same, I have to focus on one project or I can get overwhelmed by new ones 😀

      But, as you say, you have to take and nurture ideas when they come to you, you never know when you might hit a dry spell where inspiration leaves you, right?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  20. It’s always great when a new story idea comes to life. I myself have had story ideas that wouldn’t leave my mind. I always write out a blue print if I’m the process of writing another story. But it is tempting to work on it immediately and yes, writing does consume my life–even if I cannot find the time to write, it will always be on my mind 🙂

    • I think I will have to do what you do, just jot down an outline and notes about the idea and get back to focusing on my current things!

      Writing is a consuming craft, but I got to say, I don’t mind at all 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • It’s hard to contain my enthusiasm sometimes and it kind of spills like a ramble into my blog posts! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  21. Yup. I know how you are feeling. I’m stuck in revision hell on WIP #1 and I’m being hounded by another story idea. I like to work one book at a time so that I keep all the characters, story facts, and feelings alive and on point. I keep a pad of paper next to me so that whatever pops into my head, I can write it down and “forget it” until I’m ready to look at it again. It works in theory lol But at the moment the new book idea is making it very difficult to concentrate on my current WIP.

    • That’s exactly it 😀 Jotting down all the ideas for my next story, hoping it will leave me alone until I’ve finished on my other projects!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I know what you mean, I was trying so hard to just focus on editing and all those things. But my brain won’t let me and I end up writing for my next book! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  22. It happens to me all the time. I’ll be going about my day, minding my own business, and BOOM – the characters will start having a conversation in my head! I have terrible habits, so don’t listen to me. I’m usually writing two things at a time, sometimes more, and when I get an idea for something new, it consumes me – I can’t get it out of my head. It’s the reason I’m two months behind schedule for Hands of Evil. I got distracted by Worlds Apart (my nano novel), and I have another already told in my head. I can sympathise with how you feel 🙂

    • It is definitely overwhelming when you have a few ideas! 😀 Even more so when you’re already writing more than one thing! I’m in awe of your ability to do that.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • It’s not necessarily a good thing! I need discipline but maybe you can’t teach an old dog new tricks! I’ve some catching up to do with your posts – I got a little behind 🙂

  23. I’m not a writer, but I have left projects unfinished and started a new one. I blame this abandon on the fact that I’m a Gemini. That’s my excuse haha 🙂

    do whatever you feel is right 🙂

Leave a Reply

