Home » Writing » Can you feel it?

Can you feel it?

Photo by Dr Wendy Longo via Flickr

Photo by Dr Wendy Longo via Flickr

I am in the very early stages of planning out my next book. I know I shouldn’t be, I have got to focus on finishing my others! But I can’t help myself 😀 So, I’m doing little bits and pieces here and there to satisfy my craving.

My next book will be a romance again, but in a different sub-genre. I’ve been getting inspiration and doing bits of research, and I realised something about how I write.

I like to get the feel for the genre I’m writing.

For example, for Stolen, I read paranormal books, I watched vampire movies and tv shows. I immersed myself into that world and the feeling of the paranormal genre.

For The Queen’s Jester, I watched medieval shows, I read medieval romances. And for my third book (which I will give an intro to at some point and a title so as I can stop calling it my ‘third book’ :D), I dove into researching Romans and that life, surrounded myself in information of Romans and took up watching Spartacus!

I haven’t ever realised it before, but apparently my subconscious knows I need to immerse myself in the genre and get the feel of it for writing. Which is great, the more my head is in that genre then its likely the better I am going to write in it. It just means for a few months I watch, read and think nothing but the genre!

I think that is why visual aids helped me so much on my last book, it’s just another way of surrounding myself with that genre and getting into the mind-set of that story. Doing that means it flows easy and the writing has that distinct feel to it that I want.

It was just one of those random observations about my writing process I didn’t realise until I stepped back and actually looked at how I go about planning a new book 😀

Do you immerse yourself in the particular genre you’re writing? Do you have an unusual things you do to get into the right frame of mind for writing different genres?

Progress Report

Publishing status:
> Stolen- Formatting. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, marketing).
> The Queen’s Jester- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).
> Third Manuscript- Final edits. (Still to do: Cover, blurb, formatting, marketing).

May E-Book Review: Reading.

36 thoughts on “Can you feel it?

  1. Grr, it’s hard, isn’t it? I have several ideas spooking around in my head but I’m usually disciplined enough to just write down what the idea is (I have a file I call “Ideas Cauldron”) and the essentials of the plot or outline while that idea is fresh in my head (I get inspiration at the weirdest times and in the weirdest of places), but then I try to get back to what I really want to be (and should be) working on. Not always – sometimes I can “feel it”, i.e. the pull to work on something else, so much that I can’t resist, and I spend more time than I should on some side project.

    • I am very good at staying focused on one story when I’m writing, it’s just all the editing and formatting and stuff isn’t where my love lies 😀 I like to be writing!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I know of other authors who go to the point of eating the type of food their characters would to put them in the right zone for the genre. I can understand the desire to dwell in your genre and absorb all its nuances.
    Me, I am character led. They appear and pull me, sometimes hard, in the direction they wish to go. I’ve given up fighting them as they always end up having their own way. This has pushed me into a type of historical I have said previously I wouldn’t attempt, the Regency. I tried to tweak it, only fifty years or so, but no, my new heroine who is the most unregency type ‘Miss’ that there could be insistent that’s where she belongs. Wish me luck with her.

    • The stories led by the characters are some of the best 😀 You may not know where it’s going, but if the characters are strong enough to lead you, then it’s bound to be awesome!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. I think immersing yourself in a genre is the best way to prepare your mind for writing. Like you, I often find myself reading/watching things that are of a similar feel and atmosphere to my WIP and had been doing so for a long time before I even realised! 🙂

    I guess it’s another way for our subconscious to give itself to our work wholeheartedly 🙂

    • It is nice to just be surrounded by the genre and really get into the mood for it before writing. I really do find that it helps get the right feel for a story 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. That sounds like a great plan for genre work!

    I have a weird quirk where I unlock characters and places by smell. Essential oils are my friends. Zig smells one way, Seth smells another, Asylum itself is an amalgam of all it’s residents- but the scents just unlock the thing for me in such a powerful way. It really takes me there, which is really great on days that I’m just not feeling it.

  5. There are ‘method’ actors, so this is bound to extend within the art and work with writers too. It’s an interesting point. I think we all live and breath our characters, and it makes sense that we would want to emmerse ourselves in the world we are creating too (or as closely as we can) 🙂

    • It does make it easier for me when all I’m doing is eating, sleeping, reading and watching whatever genre it is I’m writing 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • I can absolutely see that. The more of your mindspace you give to a particular world, even beyond writing, the easier it should be to call up specific aspects of it when you need to create.

  6. I’d never intentionally set out to write within the parameters of a particular genre until I started writing a sci-fi and realized, Oh, shit, this is a sci-fi. I started reading up a bit on it, but then I realized I probably just need to go back to school and then base my sci-fi off the knowledge I gain through my major haha.

    • Sometimes those are the stories that come out the best, ones you just need to write a certain way and find out what they are ‘classed’ as later 😀 I’m really looking forward to reading ‘The Soul’, it’s gradually creeping up my to-read list!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  7. I remember the summer I committed to writing for children and young adults. I must have read 100 books that summer. I couldn’t get enough of those books! But my reading was broad. Now that I’m writing fantasy I try to soak in books on medieval times.

    • I do love to immerse myself in the genre, through reading or tv or anything really 😀 All in the name of research, right?

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. Inspiration abounds around us. So when the ideas come, just go with them, as you’ve been doing. LOVE the Spartacus series, although I kinda hid my face at some of the violent parts. I’m not a blood-and-gore gal, so it’s weird that I have a thing for vampires. Hmmm.

    • Spartacus was a really great series, I kinda liked that even though it was historical piece, they didn’t feel constrained by it. I need to remember to be like that if I ever write historical again 😀

      Blood-and-gore isn’t my kinda thing either! But I also have a love of vamps, it’s all that sexy brooding that does it 😉

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. While I don’t actively seek out whatever genre I’m working in (because I’m usually working on different projects all at once), I have noticed I’m totally a writer magpie. I tend to mimic and steal styles from whatever I’m reading, which can sometimes lead to a bit of a schizophrenic voice. I probably should stick to one genre and project at a time, but I just don’t have the attention span for it. The project that sings the most to me, though, can usually reflect whatever TV show I’m watching or whatever book I’m opening the most. You’re definitely not alone in that!

  10. I think that’s a wonderful way to “feel” the surroundings before you have to describe them in your books. I haven’t done that so far, because most of what I’ve written was taken from some real life experience. However, I have an upcoming book idea that will take place during the Holocaust and I’ve already started doing exactly what you’ve described. Great post! 😀

  11. I actually avoid the genre I’m writing in–strangely enough. What I will do, though, is use Pinterest to gather inspiration. It’s helped me to sharpen setting and character details in the past. 🙂

  12. I tend to read YA or adult depending on what my current project is. I don’t stick to one genre but that’s because I tend to cross genres in my books. I do try to read books that are recommended to me or are blowing up to see what makes them have such wide appeal.

  13. I absolutely immerse myself in the genre. You learn so much from doing this. I watch movies, read books and look at documentaries. It’s a very good part of the process 🙂

    • It really is, you never know where you might just pick up a snippet of information that might or inspire or be handy 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

