Home » Writing » Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

It’s Tuesday! So time for the regular Romance Weekly πŸ™‚ Hello to all those joining from Jo Richardson’s blog!

RW Banner

1. Have you always written Romance?

Thinking back on it, yeah, I have πŸ˜€ I think romance drew me in because of the love and hope it gives, and in my opinion, it adds an extra layer to characters and the story.

Unless I’m writing a short story, my short stories tend to take a very creepy, horror-like turn and I have no idea why!

2. How do you deal with critiques about the romance genre?

Ignore them.

There is such a stigma against romance, as though anything in romance is not worthy of being classed as β€˜good’. I have no idea why, some of the best books I’ve read have been romance with incredible writing and deep characters. It makes absolutely no sense to me why romance should be classed as less than any other genre.

3. What’s the one thing about our genre you’d like people to know.

That romance can add a powerful layer to a story and characters. All those damsels-in-distress and dashing heroes, they are great characters, they have depth and interest. As do the vampire love interests, the shape-shifters, the average Joes/Janes, the off-worlders.

Love is real and can really drive a story forwards so as a book becomes one of your most cherished reads.

Some interesting questions this week, and they bring up a valuable point. It’s definitely time romance took its place amongst the other genres!

What do you think about the stigma against romance books and those who write them?

Let’s find out what S.C Mitchell has to say on the topic.

Progress Report:

Word Count: 2539.
Status of Fourth Manuscript: Writing first draft.

Books read: 0/4

June eBook review: Book chosen.

27 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

  1. Well said! It’s sad that romance gets such a bad rep although one has to wonder whether it really is the writing or something else that people have against? I think part of the stigma could be from the covers themselves of half naked people, as if that was all there was to the book, when that couldn’t be further from the truth.

    • You make a good point, I can see why there might be some out there put off by some of those covers, but as you say, that is definitely not all the books are!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a shame some people can be a bit snobby when it comes to literature. As long as something can grab my interest and entertain me, I don’t mind what genre it falls into! πŸ™‚

    • Exactly, I am open to any genre as long as the story sounds great and I love the characters πŸ˜€ Having fun, and enjoying what you’re reading is the most important thing.

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. I thought I had left a comment. Sorry, if I’m repeating myself. Romance is important. It’s how we all came to be here. It’s what made Jane Austen and her contemporaries written their classic literature. If it is what the readers want then it is very important.

    • You had left a comment, for some reason it went into my spam folder! WordPress was obviously having a bad day πŸ˜€

      But you’re exactly right, if readers want to read romance, then where is the problem in that?

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

      • No, the link doesn’t work, but I appreciate your trying to help. I try to read everything you post in a timely manner, but sometimes I’m not here. I downloaded the three excerpts of your books btw and will try reading them soon to give you feedback. Keep up the good work! πŸ˜€

      • Thank you so much πŸ˜€

        I will see if I can find you on facebook and send you a message, I am terrible at social media, especially FB!

    • It really is something that most people want to find and experience, so why shouldn’t characters in books be the same?

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. It’s really strange… I used to work at a used bookstore, and the top selling books (next to text books and non-fiction books) were romance – whether it was contemporary, historical, paranormal, YA or erotica. Romance sells. That being said, I don’t know why there is such a hype about romance being bad. The only thing I can figure is that it’s because it’s not realistic enough. I’m not certain. Still, great answers. πŸ™‚

    • Romance is a big selling category, so yeah, I’m not sure why it gets such a bad reputation! But as you say, maybe it’s because love in fiction is romanticised rather than realistic relationships? Who knows! πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  5. Your short stories turn scary? I’m a total wimp and run away from horror stories. Simply too chicken. I read Stephen King as a teen and have never recovered…are they really scary?

    • I am not a big fan of horror either as I am scared by own shadow! πŸ˜€ But for some reason when I write short stories (not ones I publish, usually stuff for prompts), they always take a creepy turn! Maybe it was all those Goosebump and Point Horror books I read as a teen πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • That’s exactly how I think. Love is a real thing, so why shouldn’t it be enjoyed and focused on in books as well as in life? πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  6. Great answers. What interests me is that nearly all books have at least one romantic element, so it really depends on the definition. I like to think we all (including characters) are motivated by love; person, place, experience – it doesn’t matter πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

