Home » Uncategorized » A question for the authors out there.

A question for the authors out there.

A really good point, and something I tried out and now have to fix πŸ˜€

When pen hits paper.

Here’s a question for all you authors out there – Have you ever tried to find your book on Amazon without using its title or your name? Ie have you just searched for it using the category you placed it in and the Tags you used.

Β It’s a very interesting exercise to undertake, because if you cannot find your book easily, how can the readers?

Β I’ve just done it and had great difficulty finding even one of my books and I have Twelve on Amazon! So have tweaked my Tags and slightly adjusted my categories, now it’s a waiting game to see if my sales increase or not.

Β Alan

Β 

View original post

18 thoughts on “A question for the authors out there.

  1. I know about this from my days promoting my photography studio, but since I don’t have any books out there just yet, it’s good to know in advance for writing too. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚ How are your books doing so far?

    • It is good to get advice form those who have been there, and Alan has had his books out there for a while so I always take his advice πŸ˜€

      My books are doing good, thank you so much for asking! Considering my hope was to sell 1 to someone, I have done better than I thought by managing to sell 20! πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t sold any in last couple of days, but if that’s all I sell I am very chuffed πŸ˜€ Way more than I could have dreamed!

      • I’m absolutely positive you will. As I’ve said I’m transitioning to a Nook, so currently replacing all my paper books then getting new stuff, and I have you on my to buy list.

      • Thank you so much πŸ˜€

        What is a Nook like? I am currently using my mum’s kindle and having been looking at other e-Readers to get for myself.

      • I like Nook better because you actually own (download) the book, unlike Kindle where you basically “rent” them. (That was my biggest selling point….because I can download them then back them up to a disc elsewhere in case the Nook ever crashes, gets lost, etc.) And because of that, they don’t have the problems that Amazon frequently has with losing people’s book accounts. Other than that, they’re just like a tablet. They have very fast internet and very good graphics and sound if you want to watch Netflix or Hulu on it. And there’s a free program you can download which will convert Kindle, PDF, or other format to the Nook format, so you aren’t just limited to B&N books.

      • Nook seems the next best choice, and seeing as my mum has a kindle, it seems silly to get one for myself as well πŸ˜€

        Sounds like something to look into, thank you!

  2. Mine are impossible to find. I played with tags, too, to no avail. I know people find it because I sell books, but I have no idea how they get there. I’d sure like suggestions on that.

    • Yeah, there are a wealth of books out there, trying to get one spotted is really hard! πŸ˜€ I admire those that know exactly what to write in tags and categories.

Leave a Reply

