Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

Another set of fun questions for this week. If you’ve joined me from the lovely LaNora Mangano then welcome!

RW Banner

1. What’s your ideal: alpha or beta and why?

Hm, I do tend to write alpha males. Obviously it’s something appeals 😀

My ideal alpha male would have to be coolly confident (not shouting about his awesomeness all the time), smart but not cocky, and have a little bit of broodiness- I can’t help myself! 😀

In fact, Bane from Stolen Bloodlines is probably my ideal alpha male. The kind of guy who’s brooding, mysterious but confident in himself that he won’t back down and shy away from a woman who knows her own mind.

Excuse me whilst I go swoon now…

2. Do you have a male buddy or mate you use for confirmation or inspiration when crafting your heroes?

My best friend is male, and he is also one of my readers/editors 😀 So, I hope he’d pull anything out that would sound too feminine when I write blokes.

Though in all fairness, I prefer my men to at least think of their feelings if I write from their POV, which I know men don’t generally, but that’s just how I like to write them.

3. What does any hero have to do to win your heart?

Oh, I absolutely love melodramatic romantic moments! I can’t help myself, they make me go all giddy every time I read or write them (kisses in the rain, turning up at the airport at the last minute… paying a lot money to have your sister made reputable again- Darcy, I‘m looking at you!). It’s something about having a guy show his vulnerability in a way that there is no doubt how he feels 😀

What a great set of question for this week!

Check out what Leslie Hachtel has to say about her preference in heroes!

If you are enjoying the Romance Weekly questions, why not check out the new facebook page and twitter?

We’re also holding a giveaway in July!- https://www.facebook.com/events/773431862675366/

Progress Report:

Word count: 3372 (20,059 total word count)
Status of fourth manuscript: Writing first draft.

Books read: 1/4

June EBook review: Book read. Writing review.

30 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

  1. More great answers 🙂 It can be tricky for writers to embody characters of the opposite sex. My protagonists are almost always female so I’m cautious of making them speak and act realistically. I think that’s why a lot of writers are keen people watchers; what better way to see how real people behave socially 😉

    • Very true, I often try to people watch whilst I’m out, and the difference between men and women can at times be so different, and yet in some situations can be almost the same 😀 It’s really very fascinating.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Sigma males. All the way. Stand apart from that whole stupid system.

    I don’t really worry much about what’s masculine or what’s feminine myself, so I don’t know if I’d be all that great about pulling it out of your characters. It’s all about just being natural. Have that down, and you don’t need to worry about much else.

    • Ah, you rebel you! 😀

      I do like to get things flowing naturally, and is a male character feels like he should act a certain way, then I’m going to write it them that way!

      Thank you for your support! 🙂

    • I do love writing heroes I can fall in love with, it makes me hope others will fall in love with him just as much! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I know alpha males are probably not the guy you’re supposed to fall for, but I can’t stop myself every time 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • Ahhh! Thank you so much!! 😀 I am so happy you enjoyed it! Thank you again, I am so grateful for the review! I am rather excited and grateful if you can’t tell 😀

      Looking forward to reading yours, when is your new one out?

      I just finished Callum’s as well, was a great read.

      • The end of July 🙂

        I enjoyed Callum’s too. I’m fortunate to be surrounded by such talented and supportive people. I’ve definitely found a new home!

        I’ll be downloading your next book at the end of the week. I have so much to do at the moment, work wise, and I know I’ll be too distracted (I won’t want to put it down!).

      • I don’t feel the slightest pressure. We’re here to support each other, and we’re all avid readers. I love to read and I’m looking forward to spending time with your characters 🙂

Leave a Reply

