Home » Writing » Getting my mojo back!

Getting my mojo back!

Do you ever get into a frenzy whilst writing because the scene you are doing is so good you just can’t stop?

And then when you come to the end of the scene you sit back and just get this major rush and a buzz that makes you want to scream, ‘THAT WAS AMAZING!’ and make you feel like this:

excited2

Anybody? 😀

Yesterday I was sat writing a scene that was, well, just a scene, it had to be done but it wasn’t one of those ‘candy bar’ scenes (the ones you really look forward to writing). But then, it just seemed to be flowing and turning into something so awesome my fingers were flying over the keyboard so fast you could have seen smoke!

Maybe it would be more accurate to say the characters were flowing. I did a lot of research and character development before going into this book, so I had a good idea of how these characters were gonna be. But the more I’m writing the deeper they get, the more real they are becoming, and they are just turning even the most normal scene into something incredible!

As you can tell, I’m really pumped about getting into write again. It’s amazing to realise how much I missed it over those two months I only did editing and formatting, etc.

Everyday after writing, I am in such a tizzy because I just love doing it so much, but yesterday was a particularly awesome writing day! And it’s times like this I need to remember why I am striving so hard for this dream.

Do you ever get that buzz after writing something you’ve really enjoyed? Have you ever found a normal scene turning into something unexpectedly amazing?

Also, Stolen Bloodline got another 5* review!! Just adding to my excitement so much I could burst! 😀

Progress Report:

Word count: 2840 (22,899 total word count).
Status of fourth manuscript: Writing first draft.

Books read: 1/4

June EBook Review: 100 % read. Writing review.

50 thoughts on “Getting my mojo back!

  1. I’ve had that happen, but not as often in my current work. Think it’s rather low key compared to the others, which is throwing me off. I do enjoy when something that is supposed to be a basic scene turns into something amazing and fun. Even when it forces me to rethink the direction of the plot or the evolution of a character.

    • Sometimes the best scenes can come when you’re forced to change it or look at it from a different perspective 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Love the rush of being “in the zone”! I find it happens most when I don’t have to worry about time and can just… write without pressure of having to remember to do other stuff. Time sure flies when you’re in that alternate reality; and when you finally realise how tired you are, you scroll back and realise that you’ve written pages and pages and didn’t even realise it. Awesome feeling 🙂

    • It is an incredible feeling, and sometimes I get so into the zone I forget I do actually have stuff to do! 😀 Chores can wait, right? As long as something amazing is being created on the page!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. We first met when I was at that phase of my first manuscript, I think. Now you are where I have been since its publication. Writer’s in full-circle mode 😀 And, yes, I’ve had that feeling many times, so it’s great to know I’m not alone in my self-celebratory moments!

    • It is a writerly circle! 😀 You got to get past all those bad bits to enjoy the good bits, before it all circles around again.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. It’s great when that happens–everything else pales in comparison and food and sleep suddenly become overrated. Too bad it isn’t always like that, which is as it should be, I suppose, or we wouldn’t think of it as such a high. 😛

    • Very true 😀 There are those times when a scene won’t go just right, or the word count for the day is not what I’d hoped. So, it’s this high that I need to remember to push me through!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. That is one of my favorite gifs to exist on the internet, and it perfectly describes this feeling. Congrats on getting that buzz! I get that sometimes, too, but I really get excited when I’m typing up what I wrote and I’m really astonished by how incredible a scene I’ve already written was, like I forgot or something. LOL

    • I know what you mean, it’s nice to re-read over stuff I’ve done a little while before and realise how much I’m enjoying it 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. Oh man- ALL THE TIME! And I always want to print out said scene and run around the neighborhood showing everyone I meet how wonderfully awesome this scene is and ohmygod READ IT and don’t you love it and isn’t it wonderful and why are you walking away?

  7. That is a great feeling and you picked the perfect gif to represent the inside energy! (she’s adorable!) So glad you’re able to get back to writing. I hope you experience that excitement everyday 🙂

    • It is amazing to be writing again, I absolutely love it 😀 And I hope the excitement lasts too, it really helps keeps me motivated!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. Not too often, but occasionally. They do feel good! It usually doesn’t arrive until the rewrite, where I delete and rearrange words and suddenly–I know what I meant!

    • Part of the fun of re-writes and edits is making it really come to life and shine (and also make sense sometimes! :D!

      Thank you for reading and commenting, I really value your continued support 🙂

  9. It is a great feeling; there’s nothing better 🙂 I love it when a scene turns unexpectedly, it’s one of my favourite parts of the writing process. I’ve had a character hounding me for months. I have so many projects on the go, so many directions I want to go in, that I’ve tried to shelf him for a while. But Lance Legion is not a person you can deter and so in the end I gave him his own space – a blog of his own that I can dip in and out of and not have to feel the guilt of neglecting him for all the other people crowding my head space. Best of both worlds! I also get to feel that buzz in short bursts whenever I spend time with him. Prolonged gratification!

    • Sometimes, there are some character who just won’t leave you alone, and Lance did sound great! 😀 It also must be nice to have something to work on if you get a bit overwhelmed with your current, project, to have another character to dip into and have fun with!

      Thank you for reading and commenting (I know you’re are really busy at the moment, so I really appreciate it) 🙂

  10. I never did get that “runner’s high,” but the writing high???? HECKS YEAH!!!! But the downside is I never sleep those nights because I’m so wired on adrenaline. Then I’m grumpy for work the next day. But who cares, right? 🙂

    • Work is work, but writing is a whole different thing, you got to be buzzed and awake for that for definite 😀 It is so exciting, I am still so pumped over it!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  11. Woo Hoo! That’s awesome! I’ve been stuck editing lately and can’t wait to start writing again, myself. Yes, I often look up and realize I haven’t eaten or used the restroom all day and suddenly it’s 4 AM and everyone else is in bed. But the characters can get so engaging that they take me away. LOL! Great job! 😀

    • Editing can be such a slog at times, it’s necessary of course, but still 😀 Writing really does have that excitement to it, especially the first draft when anything goes and you don’t have to worry about cutting or re-writing yet!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Exactly! And every time I think I’m done with one book, I start editing another then think of something to go back and change again. YIKES! When does it stop? 🙂

  12. I do very much dislike when that happens…and Im so glad you made it beyond and back out into the blue. 🙂

    GREAT pic, too …she’s adorable!!

  13. I absolutely love when this happens!! And when it happens often while writing a story, it tells me I’m on the right track with it, so it is also a helpful indicator 🙂

    • Very true, if you’re getting excited throughout the story you’re writing, then hopefully the reader will too! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • It really is nice 😀 It’s always those scenes that have to written, but aren’t like major scenes that I get meh over, but it’s nice when they become so much better!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • I write poetry…but the buzz is the same when it simply pours out of the mind so fast that the fingers can’t keep up… and the next one is already being formulated Exhilarating!!!!

  14. I’ve also had that happen! It’s so exciting! So glad your writing is flowing.

    I totally get how knowing the characters helps a scene to flow. But for me, I stop dead if I don’t know what a character wants in a scene. Like the other day. I began a scene which went alone okay. But then when I took one of the characters to another place, I stopped dead. The scene fell flat. Guess I need to do more thinking about what this guy wants.

    • Very true, sometimes a character’s motivations are lost and I have to really look at why they are doing what they are doing before the writing will flow again!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  15. To answer both questions–YES! I truly love writing for the moments when I feel I’ve written an awesome scene, dialogue or scenery. It really is exciting!

  16. Most definitely get that buzz. In fact, don’t bother me when I’m in the zone. The house better be burning down, and my pants better be on fire. Otherwise, leave me be. 🙂 But you’d better be there to bask in the awesome with me when I’m done writing it.

    • I know what you mean, I barely even hear other people when I’m in the zone 😀 I look up a couple of hours later and realise people have been trying to get my attention!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

