Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

Another hop today, Romance Weekly! 🙂

RW Banner

1. When writing your novel, do you know how it’s going to end before you write, or do you write from start to finish?

I always know how it’s going to end, in fact, the ending is usually the part I come up with first 😀

It’s the beginning I always struggle with, never quite sure how they are going to be until I write them.

2. How do the people you know impact your writing? Are you influenced by friends and family for your characters?

Actually, I don’t think any of my characters have ever been influenced by anyone I know! I’m not sure how I’d go about doing that, without it becoming overly obvious who it was I’d based them on.

3. Describe the hero in your current WIP in three words.

The romantic hero? Hm? Calm, honest and sexy!

Another great set of questions this week, go check out what the lovely Katie O’Connor has to say!

Also, don’t forget to enter the Romance Weekly Giveaway if you haven’t already. Some great things to be won, including a grand prize of a Kindle Fire! 🙂

Rafflecopter giveaway

Progress Report:

Word Count: 3361 (36,158 total word count)
Status of Fourth Manuscript: Writing first draft.

Books read: 1/4

June eBook Review: Review written and ready.

26 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #lovechatwrite

  1. That’s so interesting that you know the ending but rarely know the beginning! Do you ever decide to make the ending the start of your story and see what happens from there?

    • What an interesting idea! I have never thought of that 😀 I think I might have to try it out now. I have a bunch of endings jotted down in my notebook, but no story to go with them. So this would make a rather interesting experiment!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. I heard a story guru (I think it was Margie Lawson – but I may be wrong) say you can’t effectively know how to start until you know how it ends. (Beyond the HEA of course) Great post Mishka, darling!

    • I do like to plan the ending, it kind of gives me a goal to work towards as I write, because I know exactly where it’s going and keep getting excited about it 😀

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

    • The middle parts are the hardest sometimes 😀 That’s why I like to plan out my stories, but even then sometimes a story can change dramatically from what I have planned!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • Sometimes I can plan certain points in my story, and I still end up changing them 😀 But that’s part of the fun of writing!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I do like planning out my stories, I am a big planner 😀 It does help me just keep going when I’m in the flow, to know where I am going next.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. Sometimes I’ve seen the end of a story before the beginning and written backwards to get to the beginning from the end. A fun process. I think I prefer writing from the beginning. I understand Gemma’s comment too, I struggle with the middle sometimes.

    • I’ve never written completely from end to beginning, though sometimes I think it would be a fun thing to try out 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. I might try that…having a clear ending in mind before I begin. I never know how it’s going to end! I am determined to set out clearer plans for myself, even if it’s not how I usually work – I will gain something I’m sure 🙂 People I know influence my work all the time. My best friend through high school, Tony, and the things he taught me about friendship, crop up again and again in my work. Maybe only bits and pieces, or one particular side to his personality, but I use everything I can from the people I know, or have known, to date. Thanks for sharing your answers.

    • They do say you know, and if you know those people well then it can all help towards bettering writing, right? 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • It helps when forming a certain personality trait, certainly – knowing that side of a character intimately. But we’re observers, so however we go about it, we use what works – familiar and unfamiliar both 🙂

  5. I really like that “calm” is the first trait of your hero. A trait that gets underestimated far too often.

    And I’m also glad to read that I’m not the only one who doesn’t really base anyone in my books on people i know. I mean, sure, there’s a trait or two here, but that’s about it. That’s why I never got the “Don’t piss off a writer; they’ll put you in your book!” thing. Um, no, trust me, the people in my head are much more interesting than the majority of the people in my life, especially anyone dumb enough to piss me off, lol.

    • Yeah, calm is something that this character has in spades 😀 I have to admit, it’s not a trait I normally give characters, but it just fit so well with this guy.

      I know what you mean. I’m not great at adding people I know into my stories, my characters are always so larger than life that real people just wouldn’t compare!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I find it easier that way, but then I know some writers who write so fast when they don’t know the ending 😀 Just goes to show how individual the writing process is!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

