Home » Writing » What a dynamic group!

What a dynamic group!

Photo by Grzegorz Łobiński on Flickr

Photo by Grzegorz Łobiński on Flickr

My fourth manuscript is finally with the readers! Now all I have to do is sit and try not to chew my nails too badly whilst I wait for what they say, and wonder how much editing I will have to do 😀

It will be good to take a break from it myself so as in a couple of weeks, when I get it back, I can start with fresh eyes again.

But, thinking over my current work, I was trying to work out what I enjoyed most about writing it.

What I decided upon was the group dynamic between my characters.

I have written a larger cast of characters before in Heart of the Arena, but this book and its characters are different in that they’ve known each other for quite some time.

I find it fascinating to look at groups of people and friends and see how they interact- You notice the people who are closer to others in the group, the underlying tension in others and even those who are attracted to the other.

It’s a really interesting thing to me, and it was great fun to write a group of characters all with their distinct personalities, but that all have their own opinions and history (remember when I said two of these character had spent the night together?) which shape their way of interacting with these friends who they’ve known for years.

The roles these characters play also made a difference to their interactions and the way they behaved. For example, upon meeting up with an old friend, the group dynamic shifts and that friend once again takes place as leader amongst the group, even though that person had not been with them for a long time. It was a natural shift amongst them, because that is what happens when people who know each other well get together.

Then I chucked in a newcomer, and the fun got even better 😀 Especially because the newcomer is half their age, so they all react to him differently.

Another thing I really enjoyed in writing this book was developing the relationships, not just the romantic relationship, but the friendships and rivalries.

It was something I was keen to try in this book and hopefully have succeeded at writing well!

Do you enjoy writing about the relationships between groups of characters? Do you like discovering the dynamics that grow within a group? Do you enjoy reading about the relationships between different types of characters?

Progress Report:

Status of Fourth Manuscript: Sent to readers.

Books read: 1/4

July eBook Review: Written and ready.

33 thoughts on “What a dynamic group!

  1. Wow Mishka you’ve really been very busy and I’m so amazed by your dedication and commitment. Four books already (yes, I’m counting this one LOL) and it’s only half the year! Great job! It’s always interesting to read about your processes. Thanks for sharing! (I just realized I’m suffering from an !!! addiction lol).

    • I know all about the exclamation point addiction, trust me! 😀

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I am lucky enough to be able to write full time, so I pretty much put every last energy I have into writing, and I love it!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Often, my writing circle complains about my too many characters, but you’ve spotlighted how that works: Chemistry among group members. If the author does that right, who cares how many characters. It sounds like you did that!

    • As long as characters are unique and easy to differentiate, then I don’t see the problems in using a cats of characters. Just look at the popular YA books today: Harry Potter, Hunger games etc, they have a huge cast of characters.

      I only use about 6 characters, so not as big as those, but still, I enjoy a group of characters 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. I do more plotting now than when I first started writing, but I’m still a pantser. Plotters fascinate me. Do you plot out all your character names, even minor ones in advance then?

    • I plot out everything in advance 😀 I can’t start writing until I know I have everything set. I think that’s just how my brain works. Once I know I have everything, it kind of calms my brain and I can just hammer out the story like nobody’s business!

      Everyone works differently though, that’s what makes everyone’s stories so individual, right? 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. Great post! I’ve always found it fascinating that groups of friends can have so many other underlying feelings between each of the members that others don’t even know about, both in real life and in fiction 🙂

    • Very true 😀 I find it really interesting how people interact, and how it changes depending on how long they’ve known each other.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. I’m so thrilled for you! Let us know when it is officially released. I’ll be picking it up.

    I love writing about groups of people. The trilogy has a large group of people, but I found when working on my latest piece that I didn’t bring in any outside people that were not family.

    Keep up the great work. *Hugs*

    • It is fun working on a group, especially a group of close friends. Definitely added more to their relationship an how they interact 😀

      Thank you so much for the kind words! 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I do post random things sometimes, but it’s good to think about our writing and those bits we particularly enjoyed writing 🙂

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. Exploring relationships is my favourite part. I love to explore interaction and connections, and sometimes I get to know my characters better because of how they engage with the others! Great post, Mishka. I’m in awe of how quickly you pulled this together 🙂

    • I do love delving into characters and the relationships and bonds that are forged throughout a story, especially in a fantasy setting.

      Thank you for the kind words! Love the new pic you have 😀

      • Thanks 🙂 I thought it was about time I got an up to date one! And I just read my comment, it reads like I’m in awe of how quickly you put the post together, when I was referring to your latest book 🙂 I’m sure you knew that!

  7. Group dynamics is my most favorite thing to write, like, almost ever.

    You got that fourth book done so fast! You’re a writing machine, Mishka!

    • I am lucky to be able to write full time, and that’s exactly what I do 😀 I eat, sleep and breathe writing, I love it!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  8. Writing and reading about relationships is what I enjoy best as a storyteller. I really like character development and dialogue–great topic!

    • I do love the characters, it is one of the main reasons I love writing so much I think. Getting to create these people and seeing how they react when you throw them into unexpected situations 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I was a day late getting it out to my readers, but that’s not too bad. I preferred to get it as good as possible before sending it, hopefully won’t be as much editing to do then 😀

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. Wow you’ve been busy!

    I like taking two opposite personalities and throwing them together to see what happens.

    (Oh, before I forget, I nominated you for ‘most inspiring blogger’)

    • I like seeing what happens when I write different personalities for characters, some of the scenes that can pop up can be really surprising 😀

      Thank you so much for the nomination!! That’s so kind of you 🙂

  10. Wow! It feels like only yesterday you were stating that you were starting this particular project! How many days (I won’t be mean and ask hours 😉 lol) would you say you put into this particular work? First planning and then writing? How much time do you (typically) spend editing? I ask because those who write, blog, market and everything in-between full time fascinate me. I would love to be able to do the same, but I work full-time while my husband stays home with the kids, so it’s just not in the cards at the moment. Maybe someday, but not right now. 🙂

    • I am incredibly lucky to write full time, and I give my everything to it 😀

      My goal is to produce a book every two months, if everything goes to plan.

      I spend about 30 days writing the actual first draft, then a week rewriting/editing. Then it goes off to my editors for 2 weeks, and during those two weeks I plan and research my next book.

      Then, once I get the edits back, I spend a week and half doing final edits, read outs, cover, etc.

      It may seem fast, but that really doesn’t mean my quality decreases, I want people to enjoy my writing for high quality stories, not because I can get them out quickly 😀 People won’t enjoy my work if it’s not quality!

      I spend a lot of hours writing, planning, editing- Pretty much all my waking hours 😀 Including the very early morning hours!

      I’d say out of everything, marketing and blogging, etc, takes the longest.

      • I’ll have to admit, I don’t do much marketing, and blogging is becoming harder for me to do because I’ve been working on the same projects for weeks, just switching the pattern around. I do a lot of writing and re-writing though. I do a lot of editing as I go (except when I am working on NaNoWriMo, like right now), but need to try to sit down and actually carve out a solid plan. My original goal was to produce two books a year, starting this year. May happen this year, definitely will next year (maybe even more than two).

        I feel like my writing has grown a lot in a couple of months alone from working with different editors, and as long as you have a good team behind you (I’ll even be looking at hiring a cover artist to free up some writing time. The woman I work with is AWESOME! and her work is superb.) you’re set for life. 😀

  11. Oh great, I had forgotten two of your characters had spent the night together in backstory. Now I’ll be wracking myself trying to figure out who it is.

Leave a Reply

