Home » Writing » At the Break of Dawn

At the Break of Dawn

Photo by Twisted Pixel on Flickr

Photo by Twisted Pixel on Flickr

A few people commented on my Romance Weekly blog post at how they were impressed that I had such a set schedule for my writing and could stick to it.

For a start I have to say I am very lucky to be able to write full time, so that is a major help, as that is pretty much all I concentrate my effort on. I realise a lot of people can’t do this as they have full time jobs, children, etc.

But the comments got me thinking about my routine for writing and if I could change, would I?

The answer is yes.

I wouldn’t change how long I write for, well, I would like to up the amount of hours I write, but I would change at what time of day I write.

I generally settle down to start writing at about 9:30am, after my morning chores have been completed. I write until around 12:30pm at which time I then check my blog, post a blog post and do all my social media and things which can take up the rest of the day.

It’s a good routine that works for me, but if I could I would change the time I write to about 4:30am.

Yes.

4:30. In the morning πŸ˜€

I am not a morning person, if I’m honest I’m not really a β€˜day’ person. I am very much a night owl and can easily (and happily) stay up all night until the early hours of the morning and sleep all day. Most of my best work is done at night!

Dawn usually breaks at about 4am here, and wow, it’s an incredible time. It’s so quiet with only the birds chirping, and the light is soft and soothing. No one is around, which means I can concentrate and give everything to my writing.

There is something amazing about dawn, it feels slightly dream-like, and it is my ideal writing time.

Unfortunately I can’t write at this time, my dog wouldn’t be too happy about that! Plus everyone else is up during the day, so to get things done I need to be to talk to them at regular hours, like normal people πŸ˜€

It did make me think though, about other writers and their favourite times to write. Not everyone likes the same routine and I find it interesting (β€˜cause I’m completely nosey) to learn the best ways others like to write.

What time is your favourite time to write? Are you a day or night person? Would you change your writing routine if you could? Do you even have a writing routine?

Progress Report:

Status of Prophecy of Stones: Completing edits from the readers.

Books read: 2/4

July eBook review: Written and ready.

35 thoughts on “At the Break of Dawn

  1. I am ALWAYS up early, somewhere btween 5 an 6am, thanks to my little daughters early inner alarm clock! I love the early morning, like you, but I am not natually a ‘morning person’… I find it painful to get out of bed and dont come alive until after 2 shots of strong coffee! Nor do I get the chance to write… getting Carys up and out the door for school is a full time occupation lol! My writing happens whenever I can squeeze it in! Sigh! Id love a housekeeper and nanny so I could just write all day!

    • I hear that kids can be quite the distraction when trying to write πŸ˜€

      But I feel you, it takes me a whole pot of tea before I am able to function on a morning!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • No, I couldn’t get up that early, but I can stay up all night until that time in the morning πŸ˜€ That’s my favourite thing to do.

      But yeah, sleep always wins out in the end!

      Though I have to admit, every time I do get up early, I never regret it, it’s just something that very rarely happens πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. I also wish I could write super early in the morning and sometimes I do. In the end, I don’t have a schedule set in stone, but I know what my writing goals are on a given day, so as long as I get them done before bed time, I am good with the situation. πŸ™‚

  3. It’s funny because I normally write my fiction during ‘normal hours’ in the afternoon but I almost always write my poems in the small hours of the morning. I have a lot of trouble getting to sleep so my mind inevitably wanders πŸ™‚

    • I know what you mean, though I think I sometimes have trouble falling to sleep because I can’t stop thinking about the writing! πŸ˜€

      But whatever you’re doing to write, you should keep doing it! You’re an incredible writer.

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Oh I’m definitely a day person. I find the best writing time for me is late morning, but usually I’m working/doing other things then, so it’s often in the evening that I write the most. Which is fine. I never used to write in the evening, but it’s actually a good time for me – all the distractions of the main part of the day are gone. πŸ™‚

    • I think finding a time without distractions is definitely best, even if it’s not the time we’d prefer. I can’t write at all if there lots going on around me πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  5. I get up to start work around 6 or 6:30. That’s usually a good time for me to write. I never used to be a morning person. In undergraduate and graduate school, I was a night person. But being forced to get up for a job turned me into a morning person.

  6. My autistic son still lives at home, and having him, I got into the habit of staying up very late until he was finally sound asleep, and then working on stuff. So needless to say, I start writing in the early afternoon, then usually take a break for dinner and wait until everyone’s asleep, then write again until about 4:00 AM. UGH! I wish I could be a morning person. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing your day. I always find it interesting to see what other peoples’ work habits are. πŸ˜€

  7. Since it’s summer break for me at the moment, I pretty much just write all day (except for when I’m practising instruments and writing songs, but mostly I do that in the evenings). But during the school year I tend to write around 9 PM – I try to do it for an hour daily, and although I can’t always find the time, it’s generally been working out quite well!

  8. I’ve always had the reputation of being a night person. In fact, my sister’s been calling me a vampire since childhood due to my tendency to stay up all night and sleep all day.

    Well…that, and my weird thirst for blood. πŸ˜‰

    But honestly, I would also love to get up at the break of dawn. You’re right, there is something surreal and romantic about it. I’ve tried on occasion, but I just can’t seem to be consistent!

    • There really is something easier about staying up all night and sleeping through the day, I don’t know what it is, it just really works πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  9. I’m a total night owl! I’m not a ‘day’ person either and you won’t get very much out of me on a morning! I’m known for my monosyllabic responses at the start of a day! I once went away with a close friend of mine and we shared a room. Having remembered how I’d been in my youth she didn’t speak to me when we woke up. When I went in to use the bathroom, in the steam covering the mirror (she’d just showered), were the words… ‘Good Morning, Sunshine!’ Such a great memory πŸ™‚ As for writing. I write any time and as often as possible. I’m restricted because of my girls and my job, but during the weekends they’re with their father, my home becomes a writing cave!

    • What a nice thing for your friend to do πŸ˜€

      I can’t do anything until I’ve had a pot of tea in the morning, I need that caffeine to get me going. But when it hits midnight I am fully awake and raring to go!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  10. I definitely prefer to write in the morning–best times are from 6am-12:30pm. Because of work, I have not been able to write much as I would like to, but since I will be done with work in August, I definitely intend to complete my 3rd story while I look for another job. I think it is great Mishka that you are able to write full time–I plan to do that soon πŸ™‚

    • If you have a break at any point, it’s good to be able to fill it with writing time πŸ˜€ It is more difficult for people with jobs and family to be able to find those moments to write, so I know how lucky I am.

      Good luck with the 3rd story! Looking forward to hearing more about it!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  11. With a busy young family, and a job involving shift work it can be very difficult to stick to a writing routine. During term time I try and write while the children are in school, which works quite well. During the school holidays things are more difficult, but I sometimes manage the early morning or late at night. Currently trying to write everyday, even if its just a little bit.

    • I can imagine it would be very difficult during school holidays, but it’s good you are trying to find some time everyday!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Making Time to Write | Skye Hegyes

Leave a Reply

