Home » Reading » Just sit down and read!

Just sit down and read!

Lately I have been struggling to read as much as I want. I think it’s because I fell out of the habit a while back and now it’s difficult trying to get back into it. Getting into that regular routine is much harder than it should be.

Recently, Callum posted about his approach of reading little and often, which got me thinking about how I could better my reading routine.

So, to try and help myself find a better schedule, but also just to motivate me to read more in general, I have decided to make every Wednesday a post about reading and books by others. And I am going to write an extra book review a month.

I will probably post the new book review in the middle of the month, and it will be either traditional published or indie published, but my end of month book review will still always be indie/self-published books.

I’m going to try reading for an hour and a half on an afternoon, rather than trying to read on a night, which I have been failing at. I read an article somewhere that changing the time you read might work well, so I’m going to attempt to give it a go 😀

My goal is to still read 4 books a month, and maybe I can work my way to upping that number by next year.

Remember, if you would like me to review your book, then just drop me an email 🙂

Do you have any tips on creating a good reading routine? How many books do you manage to read in a month? When do you find the best time to read is- day or night?

Also HUGE thank you to Winter Bayne and S.R.Carrillo for helping with my cover reveal, and to all of you who tweeted and reblogged! I am always so grateful for your support 🙂



Progress Report:

Status of Prophecy of Stones: Final read-out and Marketing.

Books read: 3/4

July eBook review: Written and ready.

51 thoughts on “Just sit down and read!

  1. I can’t really advise on reading because I have terrible habits (can you see a pattern). When I read Heart of the Arena, it’s the first time I dedicated a fixed time and I enjoyed it so much I’m going to make it a regular thing! I always have a book with me, so I read between jobs, and (depending on the book), whenever the opportunity presents itself. If it’s a really good one and I’m hooked, it can take over my life because I have absolutely no discipline whatsoever and I can’t wait! That’s the reason I don’t read before I go to bed. Sleep is good 🙂

    • I have that problem too. If I find a good book, I have to read it all non-stop 😀 I’m terrible at making a routine for reading!

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂 Not long until Hands of Evil release day!

  2. I used to have a lovely reading routine I’d happily read whenever I could and would typically read for a good half an hour before bed. Then I had children and everything changed. My half an hour has turned into half a paragraph before my eyes close and the book close around my hand. My husband frequently gently removes the book before turning off the light. I think changing the time I read could work well.

    • I find it difficult to stay awake long enough to read as well 😀 I definitely think changing the time I read will help motivate me more.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. It’s no biggie Mishka 🙂

    I read in spurts, but still manage to average 1 book a week for 52 books a year. I tend to read during breaks at work or when I’m waiting somewhere. I always have my ereader with me and if I’m waiting anywhere I pull it out.

    • I figured 4 books a month would be a really achievable goal, but this month has proven me wrong on that! 😀

      Hopefully this new routine will help though.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  4. I don’t really have a reading routine. I can read a book a day for a week and then take 6 months to read a single one. I take things when they happen. I always have a book with me, and tons of books to read, but things happen as they do. 🙂

    • I figured you must read 24/7 with the amount of reviews you manage to post on your blog! 😀 I am envious of the variety of books you read!

      You always write really interesting reviews as well, think I’m going to have to learn to write them better as well.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Now you know I don’t always read 24/7! 😉

        Thank you for my book reviews! I have mostly been writing them for the past months, so I am glad that they are becoming great!

  5. My lack of attention span rarely allows for me to be able to sit down and just read for a long period of time, as done my constant thought of “There’s something else I should be doing right now!” So I just sneak in a chapter here and there when I can of a variety of different books. Sometimes I plow through them, sometimes not so much. I’ve also been bringing a book with me when I take the dog out, since she likes to putz around a little, and most of my reading, admittedly, gets done in the bathroom, ha.

    I’m also getting in the habit of reading before bed, not only because it’s the only time I don’t get plagued by thoughts of everything else i have to do, but it also helps me sleep better, giving a space between the stimulating effects of the TV or the computer and the calmer mindset needed for slumber.

    You’ll figure out something, I’m sure, And then you’ll be blasting through those books.

    • I read somewhere that it was not advised to read before bed because it stimulates the brain too much to sleep. I am also not able to concentrate as well on a night because I’m just too tired, the words all blur into one 😀

      I think trying to get in a chapter where I can will have to be part of my routine as well!

      Thank you for the supportive comment 🙂

      • I’ve heard that, too, that it’s too stimulating to read before bed, but I don’t know. I always feel I sleep much better on nights I read before bed than nights I don’t. It’s a lot easier for me to fall asleep, too, but, then again, I tend to read until my eyelids are practically falling down, so that might have something to do with it. I write, too, and when the words start to make no sense, then I know it’s sleepy time.

  6. Changing up me piece-of-shit reading routine has helped me to read more A LOT. All I do now is read during the day instead of at night (as I see you’re contemplatin’), and I try to squeeze in a little bit every time I have a free few moments at work, and it’s made a huge difference. Not only do I read more, I read better.

    And then, of course, I try to get in at least an hour every day.

    Give it a shot – I think you’ll find at least a little improvement in your reading habits and progress.

    • I think I will definitely take your advice. Reading during the day will help me concentrate more, and doing at least an hour a day and fitting it in where I can will certainly boost the amount I get read!

      Thank you for the advice! 😀

  7. I almost always read at night before bed, which can be dangerous because it may cause me to stay up WAY past my bedtime. But, if I have a day off of work that’s not filled with the other vagaries of life, then I’ll literally read all day. I hope your plan goes well!

  8. I can understand. My goal was to read 1 book per month, and I did well for the first 3 months, but then my work load started piling on me. However, I am going to get back to reading in August, so I am excited about that 🙂

    • At least you can get back to reading soon then! 😀 I do tend to find I miss reading when I can’t do it, but it is difficult to find a reading routine that really works.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. Personally, I am finding that if I’m in writing mode, I can’t read other people’s stuff. Perhaps because i’m dying to write and reading would take away from that time. Otherwise, a couple of hours before bed is what does it for me. 🙂

  10. Reading routine, what’s that? I find that I’m pretty horrible at keeping one. I’d be on read mode at times and just read whenever, wherever until I finish. Other times I get distracted and go for quite some time without getting much reading done. I can’t just fix a certain time of the day or amount of time for reading though, just because I usually don’t stop unless I have to.

    • Yeah, if I find a good book, I tend to struggle to put it down and everything just gets put on hold 😀 But hopefully having a routine will help keep me motivated to go through books and not forget to read at all!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Lyn Rollins, the creative writing instructor at Ventura College said often, “Writers read!” Every week in class, she’d ask what we’d been reading, who wrote it, and whether they were alive or dead. (She wanted us to read works by live authors.)

      • It’s great advice, and I do think the more I read the easier I find writing. Must be something to do with having my head in that kind of zone 😀

        Thank you so much for dropping by and commenting 🙂

  11. I have trouble reading before going to sleep as well (I’m either too sleepy to focus or the reading keeps me too awake to fall asleep later!). I hope your new reading routine works out!

    • Reading before bed never seems to work for me, all the words just tend to blur because I’m so tired 😀 So hopefully reading earlier in the day will help me focus better.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  12. I usually read at night. Sometimes on a rainy day or if I am tired, I read nonstop as much as possible. If I am really into a book, I sometimes “can’t put it down” , and I LOVE when that happens! 😊 I find that I can’t write too much when it’s late, so it helps me to try to write somewhat early and read somewhat late. Of course, I do have other things to do besides read and write, LOL! 😊So I try to do those too! It is hard. . . trying to get it all in. . . Something is always getting left out, and I try to just sort of know that to be the case. Great post; thank you!

    • I think it is difficult to come up with a good routine, because, as you say, when you concentrate on one thing then something else is getting forgotten or left! 😀

      I love reading when it’s a rainy day, something about it just feels so cosy!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  13. Summer is my main time to read since I teach during the rest of the year and squeezing in reading in between lesson planning and grading essays is pretty tough. I do love to read on the weekends especially in the hammock. Read and doze…sigh

  14. I can’t wait to see your bookish posts! Reading is such a wonderful habit to get into – I think posting about books on Wednesdays will reinforce it and make it easier for you 🙂

    • I hope so, I love reading so much, it will be nice to be able to have some posts dedicated to it 😀 Plus, if it keeps me motivated to keep reading, that’s always a good thing!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  15. I’ve also been trying to read more. I’ve been reading at night and falling asleep sometimes. 😀 But last night, I didn’t fall asleep and wound up reading until 1:30 this morning.

  16. Umm, this might be a little TMI, but one of the best places to catch up on reading is while doing your business on the toilet. I keep a basket of books and/or my Kindle right there in the restroom. Guaranteed to read a few minutes a day!

  17. The more I’ve been writing, the less likely I am to spend time reading, I’ve found. I may actively want to read, but I’ve got something inside of me telling that if I have the time to sit down and enjoy a story, I’ve got the time to work on my own. It’s been a bit better, lately, as I’ve been drawing rather than writing, but the impression is still there.

Leave a Reply

