Home » Writing » Well, what a weekend!

Well, what a weekend!

Well, this weekend has been rather… interesting 😀

A lot happened and went wrong, which means today I’m still up in the air as we’re trying to fix and sort everything out at home.

Unfortunately, this means I haven’t even been able to write one word towards my next book! And I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to start.

To be honest, I’m getting antsy to begin, as I love starting new stories and have so much excitement for it that I can barely keep it contained. But, life does like to throw a spanner into the works at times and put a halt on my carefully laid out schedule!

Catching up with my writing shouldn’t be too much trouble, I will just have to cut down on something else to allow me to up the amount of hours I can write, when I get a chance to actually begin writing!

It just goes to show that no matter how much you plan a nice, scheduled writing routine, life doesn’t always let that happen! You just have to write when you can, and not let these hiccups weigh down on you 🙂

Seeing as things are a bit all over the place, I won’t be around much today or possibly tomorrow either, but I will try to keep up as best I can. Hopefully I will be back on track with commenting, emails and reviews at the end of the week.

I’m really sorry to anyone waiting for replies or reviews, I will get to them straight away as soon as I can!

Have you ever had to stop from your writing routine? Does life like to get in the way of your writing time? How do you cope when your schedule gets so thrown off course?

Progress Report:

Status of fifth manuscript: Waiting to start writing first draft.
Word Count: 0 😦

Books read: 0/4

Mid-August book review: Written and ready.

34 thoughts on “Well, what a weekend!

  1. I hope that things improve/become calmer and clearer for you! Sending good vibes your way! 🙂

    I always try to work early before my deadline (whether publisher or self imposed) so I can adjust when life gets in the way.

  2. Sorry to hear you’ve had a difficult weekend. It can be really hard when you’re itching to write and you can’t find the time. I’ve been lucky over the past couple of weeks, and I’m taking advantage of it because I know it can’t last. During August my working hours diminish and though that’s hard financially, it means I get plenty of time to read and write! September will be utter madness and I’ll be climbing the walls, or using match sticks to hold my eyes open because my writing hours on a busy month mean long into the night!

    Hopefully you’ll be able to start on your next adventure soon. Hold onto that, and enjoy creating a whole new world for us 🙂

    • Sounds like August will be good for you then! Where as September will be interesting, hope it goes smoothly!

      It is hard when things get in the way of writing, I was so eager to get started as well 😀

      Thank you so much for your kind comment 🙂

  3. Ah yes…the dreaded schedule. I’ve had far to many of those blow up in my face. I agree, you just need to write when you can wedge it in. Hopefully things calm down soon.

  4. Life does seem to love getting in the way. I’m looking at delaying my next book’s debut again because I still don’t have the cover art. So I’m rather antsy and irritable because it feels like everything is going wrong. Not looking forward to posting about the delay on my blog in an hour or so. It’s mostly to stop people from bombarding me with messages about the Cover Reveal, which was all I heard about last week.

    I guess all we can do is try to shrug things off and move ahead.

    • I’m sorry to hear that! Your cover art has been delayed a lot, I really hope you get it soon, and I’m sure it will be worth the wait 🙂

      Thank you for the encouraging comment 🙂

      • Thanks. I sent a message to my cover artist asking if he has anything that could work for the reveal. I can still use it even if it doesn’t have the title and author name. He’s moving from one state to another too, which throws a monkey wrench into the plans. Just can’t win this time around.

  5. Chin up kid. getting antsy is good. Honest. It means you WILL get back out there. Believe me. This year alone I’ve lost my house..yep, had to find another, had the younger daughter add to the family, oh and gone on the hunt for a new publisher. Antsy at times does not begin to cover it. What do I do? Well, I try and get some words down, it can be a crap 100 at 2 am, I don’t care. Every little does count. I also try and accept that interruptions are a part of writing. God, if only we could scribble away in attics! It’s also hard when you have books out there to keep on top of the Social Media. You need to juggle promoting what you have out there with writing your next one. When you don’t yet have a book out it’s far easier to juggle. So you have to be realistic re the length of stick you beat yourself up with about that.
    Hope things settle for you soon. Sorry they’re difficult. But sure you will get there. You’re too dedicated not to.

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, and you’re completely right!

      I’m going to try and fit in some writing where I can, it’s just hard to find a minute sometimes! 😀

      But yeah, promoting my newest release whilst trying to write and deal with other things can be rather hectic!

      Thank you again for the kind comment 🙂

  6. Life is sometimes like that! Am sure you will be writing again before long. I have family coming to stay, so I shall be likewise deterred, but it is wonderful to live in the moment and enjoy every moment! 🙂

  7. My husband worked from home for a year which meant long coffee breaks 🙂 While I enjoyed it, it really did crimp the writing. I tend to swing things way out of perspective. I get very obsessed and forget to enjoy my husband, five kids, 10 goats, four dogs, 20 chickens . . . the characters in my books are so much more controllable than my real life cast of creatures! I’d like to say I take it all with a great sense of humor, but sometimes I just get aggravated and say something horrible to one of the kids. 🙂

    • It seems it is easy to get sucked into writing and forget about the real world 😀 That just makes it harder when the real world rears up to put a kink in plans!

      Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

  8. I hate problems. They are so annoying. Computer glitches, nasty letters from powerful people (the IRS comes to mind), meetings with those who can sort life. All just a distraction from writing.

    Good luck with yours. See you soon.

    • Yeah, it’s nice when you can just sit down to write without anything getting in the way. But it seems life has other plans at the moment 😀

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  9. Hope things work out for you and settle down soon. I have a set writing schedule (Sunday afternoon) but occasionally things don’t work out as planned. I normally try to log 5-6 hours each Sunday but yesterday I only managed about 3, so yes, life often throws curve balls, LOL. And I agree with you about starting a new novel–I love the enthusiasm that goes with it!

  10. I hope everything is well and that things are getting better. I know what you mean when things get in the way of your plans–especially writing. That is what happened to me for 10 months when I started a new job and the work load was more than I anticipated. I had to put my story on hold–but I think it is a good idea to revise your schedule and eliminate some things (even if temporary) to do what you really want and need to do 🙂

    • A new job is always a lot of work to start with, so no wonder your writing had to be put on hold!

      I am hoping all of this upheaval is going to be very temporary, though at the moment it doesn’t feel like it! 😀

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  11. Oh, I’m sorry! I hate when things happen to deter you from your plans! I guess once again, John Lennon was correct… Life is what happen to you when you’re busy making other plans. 🙂 Better luck tomorrow! 🙂

  12. O I hate when that happens! I hope it will be solved soon.
    I don’t really work with writing schedules because, well, Life always gets in the way of my plans! 🙂 So, I write when I can and grumble when I can’t. 😉
    Lots of love
    Patty

Leave a Reply

