Home » Writing » Where oh where to write?

Where oh where to write?

I wrote a post quite some time back about the space where I write (in my living room, on my sofa, usually next to my dog!).

But as I’ve focused more on turning my writing into a serious career, it’s becoming more and more obvious that I am going to need a space of my own to write.

I am one of those people who can’t write unless it’s quiet, and you can certainly tell the difference in the quality of my writing between when it’s quiet and when it’s noisy 😀

Yet, the more I’ve been thinking about it, the more I realise how many considerations need to be thought of!

It may sound silly, but I like to have my dog with me when I write, hence why I write in the living room. And, although I am lucky enough to have a large bedroom that I could turn half of into an office space, I don’t want to confine my dog to my room all day, not when she likes to wander in and out of the garden. So, for now, my room’s not an option.

We don’t, unfortunately, have any spare rooms either.

The living room is surprisingly noisy, even when there aren’t many people around.

It has been suggested a construction at the bottom of the garden might work, which is tempting. I have seen a few other writers’ blog about their writing space which is contained to a summer house-type building in their garden. It would also mean I could have my dog with me.

But looking at these constructions and mainly their price tag, it was a little bit of a shocker 😀

So, I guess for now I will have to stick to the living room. But I am putting some questions out to the blogging/writing community in hope you might be able to help:

What do you do to find the space you need to write?

Do you have any tips on creating a writing space in less than ideal circumstances?

What is your writing space like?

I have some posts scheduled over the weekend but won’t be back until Monday to answer comments and email 🙂 I’m also still having some difficulty with my computer, so please bear with me!

Have a great weekend!

Progress Report:

Status of fifth manuscript: Writing first draft.
Word count: 6618 (Total word count: 22375)

Books read: 3/4

End of August indie book review: Written and ready.

41 thoughts on “Where oh where to write?

  1. I’m currently squished in an awkward piece of the bonus room in the attic. This is the man cave and it was so we could still be together. It’s very dark and noisy and all kinds of bad things for writing. I’m carving out a spot in a spare room. I plan on posting about it as it gets closer to being done. It is a huge step for me in making my writing more of a PT job. I’ll have an “office” and a schedule.

    I’ll work my way outside later. 😀

  2. I write in different spots across the house. I have two spots downstairs: the living room (where I sit on the floor at the low table we have) and the kitchen table; and two spots upstairs, both in my bedroom: at my desk (lovely uncluttered space) or in bed when I’m tired but want to finish a few last things. I always work on my laptop so it makes it easy to carry around, especially since the new one is so small and light!

  3. I used to work at the dining room table, but that put me in the middle of the action. Now I sit on my bed, write, and spend the evenings nursing a sore back. Unfortunately, the space situation of the house has forced me to be nomadic. Guess I’m no help. I envy those with writer nooks.

  4. I do a lot of writing on my living room couch with my dog curled up by my side. I also meet with a writer’s group to write in a cafe like setting – makes us look cool and cultured. :p And I also do a fair amount of writing when/where the mood hits me in my pocket sized moleskin notebook. 🙂

    • I wish there was a writing group around where I lived, I think that would be lovely.

      I am always amazed at people who can write in places like cafes, they are always too noisy and crowded for me 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂 Have a lovely weekend.

  5. Oh dear. Look for a second hand shed! You could do it all up glammy. We’re moving house and I am losing my beautiful inspiring view but gaining a writing den/sitting room up a hidden staircase. Got to say the ‘swop’ is better than I thought.

    • Would be nice to win the lottery and gain a nice view and a writing room 😀

      But yeah, I had seen some articles on doing up old sheds into offices. Maybe something I will have to look into more.

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂 Have an awesome weekend!

  6. I usually write at the desk in the bedroom but so long as I’m alone I could probably scribble a short amount almost anywhere. The idea of a separate office is amazing; maybe one day I’ll be lucky enough 😉

  7. Have you looked at the larger “garden” or “storage” sheds that are premade? You could probably get one that was 6×6 or 8×8 for a few thousand bucks, which is cheaper than a new build obviously.

    You would of course have to make sure that they were water tight. We have a storage shed attached to our house that is 6×8 that I would guess cost under $10k to build. I know it is still a lot of money, but this MIGHT be an option.

    I am lucky enough that when we moved into our current place I stole the small extra bedroom for my craft room. So I have my own little space.

    Good luck! 🙂

  8. Not needing a dog to write, I have considerable options: couch, back bedroom/office, outside, the library–it doesn’t matter. What does matter is the limiting of distractions. Laundry beckons at times, as does the cache of dark chocolate.

    • Yeah, that’s problem with being in the living room, there are plenty of distractions, including chores that stare at me 😀

      But yeah, dark chocolate, always a temptation!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

  9. I write in the dining room in a little corner! I dream of my own writing space and when I dream I go big! It will have a wipeboard covering the entirely of one wall, a book shelf spanning two full walls and a huge desk with filing cabinets in front of a window overlooking a stream. When I get really crazy it has a reading corner, a coffee machine and an open fire 🙂

  10. One of my favorite places to write is in my backyard, by the pond, beneath the tree. It’s shady enough that the sun doesn’t fry me, and the waterfall sound is relaxing. It’s also ideal because, like your concern for your dog, mine get to rove the backyard.

    Happy writing!

  11. I just recently got a hold of a roll-top desk for my room, so I can write at it, but I haven’t used it for such yet. My laptop doesn’t fit on it quite right and it’s currently covered in notebooks and binders full of writing.

    As such, most of my writing has occurred at work of late where I sit at a desk that’s just a top with legs and a desktop computer. There’s also a tape dispenser, a stapler, a pen holder, a fan (atop the desktop), and a scan gun.

    Truthfully, I hope one day to build a similar set-up at my house and gift my roll-top to a friend of mine who’s in love with roll-tops but does not currently have one. However, before I do this, I want to make sure I have a bookshelf or similar to put my notebooks and binders on. 🙂

    • That’s the only problem with having a desk, it does tend to get filled with other things quite fast 😀 I have a lovely desk in my room, which is being used to store books and stationary I don’t really need, rather than being used for its writing purpose 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  12. I too need complete peace and quiet in order to write my stories. In the past, I tried writing in coffee shops and libraries, but even the smallest noise or chatters stoled my focus. So now the best places I find to write is at home, either in my bed room or living room when no one is around. I have been able to accomplish a lot that way!

    • I am always amazed at those that can write in coffee shops, it’s always far too busy and noisy for me 😀

      But yeah, I think living room or bed room are some of the best options!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

    • I think something at the bottom of the garden would work out nicely.

      Aww, it’s great when your dog can be near you, I find it really helps me write better 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  13. I am a PC person. When I type for extended periods, I like to sit upright at my desk. The desk is in the den just off the kitchen with a lovely sliding glass door onto the porch (where I have breakfast in the mornings and read in the evenings) and gardens I call The Jungle. The doggies stay at my feet all day. I am another one who has to have quiet. My husband and I have desks side by side and he likes to surf the web and watch you-tube, so I gave him a nice set of lightweight earphones for Christmas *hint, hint* and he took it well. I don’t know what I am going to do when he retires in a few years.

  14. What about a set of noise-cancelling headphones? They’d have to be making some sort of noise, but might that be worth cancelling the ambient sounds with something more in your control?

    I have it a lot easier creating in the winter than in the summer. I usually work at night, when everyone else is well asleep, but in the summer I have the windows open and my house is near the highway, so that doesn’t help much. I usually work in the warmer seasons with some light music going in the background.

    • Noise cancelling headphones might be worth looking into. Sometimes I put on rain noise on youtube, and that does help, just having some kind of white noise cancelling out everything else 🙂

  15. I write in my room, since, like you, I’m slightly broke at the moment (oh, the woes of being a teenager! 😉 ). When I do move out, though, it would be lovely to have a little room just for writing… although I don’t NEED to have total silence, I do like to read my work out loud since I’m big on dialogue, so it’s nice to be alone in that! Good luck solving your dilemma… as Aether suggested, a set of noise-cancelling headphones may or may not do the trick. 🙂

    • A little room would be a perfect thing 😀 I don’t need much space, but some quiet would be nice. I am a fan of reading aloud as well, I do think it helps when writing dialogue to make it flow better!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

