Home » Writing » Rekindling my Love for Love!

Rekindling my Love for Love!

My next book is going to be packed full of romance.

Why?

Because I want it to be πŸ˜€

I love romance, hence why I write it, but my last couple of books have had heavy stories to go along with romance. And I’d say they were romance of a different kind- a passionate, heavy romance.

This time I want something light and romantic.

So, I wanted to write a book where romance was going to be the main theme of the story. But, it’s also going to be a contemporary piece and I haven’t written a chick-lit type book before. So I needed to get into the mood for writing it.

I scoured the kindle store for books in that genre, but also I watched a lot of romance movies.

I have to say, they really did help me get in the right frame of mind πŸ˜€ As I said in my Romance Weekly post last week, I am very inspired by the visual.

I watched Austenland, which was just beyond awesome!

tumblr_n5sq2v9mUU1qmgx8uo1_500

Then I had an overload on Jane Austen, watching Northanger Abbey and Persuasion. Next up was While You were Sleeping and Penelope.

I have to admit, I was a bit de-motivated when I started writing my book, as I enjoyed writing in the fantasy genre so much. But watching these movies and reading that type of story reminded me exactly why I planned this book next.

Because I love every moment of those fun romantic movies! Every stolen glance, every damsel-in-distress moment, and every inevitable kiss in the rain! πŸ˜€

My next book is going to be a light, fun read where the romance genre in movies and books is heavily involved in the storyline, so watching and reading this type of genre has been perfect for getting me in the right frame of mind.

Let’s call it research! Very necessary research.

I always forget just how much the right mind-set can help to give me motivation to keep writing!

If you’re finding yourself a bit stuck in your story or not motivated, pick up a book in the same genre or watch a movie and remind yourself why you chose that genre. Reigniting your love of that type of story can be an amazing way exciting your creativity to keep writing!

Do you sometimes have to re-find your love of a genre? Do you always read within a specific genre? Are there any books or movies that instantly get you in the mood for writing?

Progress Report:

Status of Fifth Manuscript: Writing first draft.
Word count: 2395 (Total word count: 24770)

Books read: 3/4

End of August indie book review: Written and ready.

37 thoughts on “Rekindling my Love for Love!

  1. While I don’t write in the romance genre, I love romance! It is an important part of how my characters evolve. In the Fantasy series I am working on, I have several bits of romance already and I know that it will continue to evolve, both in established and blooming relationships!

    • I do love romance, it is one of my favourites πŸ˜€ I find that a bit of romance can add to characters, just because it involves such deep emotions and can help show how different individuals handle it.

      It has been nice finding my love for the genre again!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  2. Who doesn’t love a romantic kiss in the rain? There’s a reason why those scenes are memorable and work time and time again. I’m struggling to get back into my science fiction, which I’m supposed to be publishing in November! I’ve spent so much time with JJ and the team that I want to write another thriller and I had to take a step back. Plus I’m considering writing an anthology and you know what it’s like…the inevitable pull of something new! I must get Worlds Apart sorted. I’m going to take your advice and have an overdose of sci-fi films/books to get the motivation flowing πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to read your next book. I love a good romance!

    • Blimey! It sounds like you have tons going on πŸ˜€

      But yeah, I know what you mean. That draw to something new and fresh is always there!

      Thank you so much for commenting, and good luck with it all! πŸ™‚

    • I am going to have to tailor my reading and movie watching more often I think, to suit the genre I’m writing. As I read all kinds of books, it’s easy to get out of the head space of the genre I’m currently writing πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  3. Great post Mishka! Glad Jane Austen is inspiring you. I have to say she’s my favourite author. I’ll let you guess which is my favourite book of hers! πŸ˜‰

    And that’s really good advice you’ve given us about what to do when you’re not feeling inspired as an author. I will remember it for future reference!

  4. Are you back yet? Welcome!

    I started watching Austenland, but didn’t get to finish it. Had to laugh at that GIF. It’s very Austen-esque.

    Thanks for the tip. All the very best with your new book.

    • Austenland was awesome, and I would thoroughly recommend trying to watch it all πŸ˜€ That GIF was just perfect for it!

      Thank you so much for commenting and the support! πŸ™‚

  5. Oh light and sweet is so fun to write (and read for that matter). Charade is fun/funny if you want to check it out (the original), though there is a murder mystery in it as well. And of course, the old standby – When Harry Met Sally. πŸ™‚

    I also turn to movies and books when I want to get in a particular genre frame of mind. I think it helps, or at least that’s what I tell myself while I enjoy hours of watching old movies and re-reading good books. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your new project!

    • I’ve never seen When Harry met Sally, but it’s definitely on my to watch list after all the great recommendations people have given me to watch it πŸ˜€

      Watching movies really does give me the motivation to write! All that creativeness!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

    • I think I do my best writing when I write what I want. When I decided on this writing career, one of the things I definitely wanted was to enjoy it. If I worry about writing what’s popular or what is in style for writing, then I might not enjoy it so much!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  6. I might have to do that soon too. I am writing in a genre I’m used to (fantasy) but about a species of creature I don’t normally mess with and really have little knowledge of (faeries). I’ve been reading and listening to a lot of folktales to get me in the mood. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

    Another side tidbit. I saw how you keep writing your current status on your writing and thought the site might work for you. It allows you to add status bars to your site that display similar to NaNoWriMo’s (X out of X written kinda thing).

    • It’s amazing how much is out there to help get us inspired in specific things, even if it’s about specific creatures like faeries. You never know when reading or watching a movie might give you a flicker of inspiration that is original and fresh πŸ˜€

      Thank you for the tidbit! I have looked at those bars, and think they might be useful, I just am worried I’d forget to update it!

  7. I like and support the idea of reading stories and watching stories of the same or similar theme/genre one is writing. Watching movies, such as Beauty and the Beast, The Lord of the Rings, and even reading stories from one of my favorite authors, Tamera Alexander, influenced and inspired my 2nd and 3rd story I am currently working on. It was nice hearing what has inspired your 5th story and I can’t wait to hear more about it!

    • It is great fun watching or reading something new and then trying it out for yourself. I always think movies and books help get my head in the write kind of setting and mood for writing specific genres πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  8. Austenland is awesome! I loved it! I do try to read in my genre, as I typically write sic-fi and fantasy. There are times when I need to branch out and ready something different, just to knock my brain around, before coming back to those genres with a new passion.

    • Reading different things can be just as helpful, you never know when something from another genre might sprak a fresh idea to add to the genre you’re writing!

      Also, yes, Austenland was just amazing! πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  9. I write for kids and read non-stop kids’ books for my own enjoyment and because, well, I have kids who love books. But I also read sci fi, historical romance, nautical history, and contemporary fiction. And lots and lots of magazines. Sometimes the oddest moments in books, movies or shows inspire a curiosity in me that leads to a story line. I often try to imagine children’s books set within or “close to” book or movie plots and settings I enjoy. Just finished watching 12 Years a Slave and wondering what a fictional account of the daughter of the main character would be like.

    • It is amazing where we can draw inspiration from, and reading and watching such a wide range of genres can really help you think of things you might not before πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  10. I’ve been pretty solidly in Fantasy for the past… decade or so. And the current story I’m working on doesn’t even have a romance subplot (I don’t usually write romance anyhow, but it usually creeps its way into the story so I wont rule it out but.. not seeing it so far in the story which is strange), but lately I’ve been itching to write some realistic fiction… think it is because I’ve been reading less fantasy and more realistic lately… What you read and watch can have such a huge influence — and is some of the most fun research ever πŸ™‚

    • What you read and watch really can influence your creativity, right? πŸ˜€ And it’s good to branch out into new things. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the realistic fiction if you go ahead with!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  11. Although my writing genres are Fantasy and dark poetry, I do love to read romance! πŸ™‚
    So I will definitely keep my eye out for your next book Mishka!
    As for your question, it’s mostly music that motivates me to write. πŸ™‚
    Lots of love ❀

  12. I’m such a sucker for light, happy, chick flick style contemporary romances – and I’m so incredibly excited that you’re going to be writing one. πŸ˜€ Austenland was produced by one of my favourite authors (Stephenie Meyer) – I’m so glad you enjoyed it! xx

    • It is so nice to pick up a light read sometimes, to one to enjoy and have fun with! πŸ˜€ I really fancied writing something like for a change!

      Austenland was amazing, and now one of my firm favourite movies!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

