Home » Writing » When not writing is not your fault…

When not writing is not your fault…

Some days you go to start you writing.

You have a cup of tea or coffee.

You have a snack.

You have all your research.

You have your notes.

You have your plan.

You are ready to get going!

You come to settle into your seat and BAM!

harlinotwork

No writing for you today 😀

Though, even with Harli saying ‘no’ to writing some days and I have to untangle my stuff from beneath her, I have gotten a lot written and am coming along really well on my next book!

How is your writing coming along? Are there ever things that stop you from writing?

**It’s a bank holiday in the UK on Monday, meaning there won’t be a post on Monday, though I do have some scheduled for the weekend. But I won’t be around until Tuesday next week to reply 🙂 Have an awesome weekend everyone!**

Progress Report:

Status of fifth manuscript: Writing first draft.
Word count: 6054 (Total word count: 36793)

Books read: 4/4

End of August Indie Review: Written and ready.

32 thoughts on “When not writing is not your fault…

  1. All the time.
    I’m terrible at planning ahead with writing. I used to always finish the day before I needed it, now it’s done the day of.

    Usually it’s a case of “I’ll start now, just have to do this one thing” Then suddenly, inexplicably, it’s eleven at night and I’m too tired to write, so I just reassure myself that I’ll get it done tomorrow.

    I plan to start being better at it though.

    Someday.

    Hopefully soon.

    • No, cats are usually the best at being the biggest distractors, especially when they like the heat the laptop keyboard gives off! 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting and have an excellent weekend! 🙂

  2. I miss my cat so much. She was always in the middle of everything I was doing. Such a sweetie! Good luck with your writing and I hope that you have a great weekend! 🙂

    • We used to have two cats, and even though they got in the way of tasks, I miss them a lot! I also think my dog misses them, she grew up with them and I think she feel the pack has gotten much smaller without them.

      Thank you so much for commenting and have a great weekend as well! 🙂

  3. Harli seems very determined for you to pay attention to her.
    I haven’t done much in the way of fiction writing lately, though I miss it. Too many other things on my plate lately.

    • Yeah, Harli doesn’t understand why she shouldn’t be the centre of attention all the time 😀

      I hope you can get back to writing soon! It’s difficult when there’s a lot going on, but sometimes it’s better to concentrate on life and getting that sorted, so when you go back to writing you can give your everything to it!

      Thank you so much for commenting and hope you have a brilliant weekend 🙂

  4. I’m on a forced writing break until September. The 5-year-old is home from school and every dang rainstorm we’ve been promised keeps missing the area. All I want is one rainy day to stay inside and do a little notebook work while he plays. 😦

  5. I have a 2 1/2 year old daughter. She ruins my plans for writing often. I just can’t plan around her. If he actually goes to bed early, it’s amazing.

    I’d be able to write tonight, but I can’t concentrate now. There’s a huntsman spider wandering around my apartment. Not fun.

    • I starting to realise how lucky I am that I can actually have a plan and stick to it! 😀 My dog doe like to try and dissuade me from writing, but once I grab my stuff from beneath her, she will usually give up!

      Though yeah, I don’t think I could concentrate with a spider like that around!

      Thank you so much for commenting and have a great weekend! (Hopefully spider-free! 😀 )

      • Ah, my daughter is persistent. She’s at the age when she just wants to be near me or my wife and constantly play with us.

        The huntsman spider is a small one, only about 10 cm/4 inch leg span. They get 3 times bigger. I saw it crawl on the wall toward me, but when I moved, it went into hiding. They’re afraid of people despite being ridiculously huge.

      • Fully grown ones are up to a foot across. I’ve seen them at more than 6 inches, though.

        A bowl is too slow. These things run so fast, it’s nearly impossible to catch them.

  6. Social and family obligations (some of them quite fun) have certainly interfered with some of my writing time… no pets to take over my work-space these days. This weekend, though, between the family time and social times I will get not only writing done, but also some web-page reorganization. (do you hear the determination in my typing? because it’s there….)

  7. Or sometimes (like yesterday with me), you have every intention of writing… and blogging (!!), then the old computer crashes and you have to scramble to back up everything on it before you lose it all and you’re so frustrated afterwards, you have to talk away. LOL! Have a good holiday Monday! 🙂

  8. Wall-E has been looking at me a lot lately with those puppy eyes wanting to play. He’s starting to get pushy… grabbing his play tree stump and sitting at me and whining. Sometimes, I just can’t resist.

    I went through a 2 week slump where nothing would even come to me. I broke it by changing gears. Started editing and that got the creative juices flowing again, so to speak. Try changing gears if you’re stuck.

  9. I can definitely understand when you try to write but you can’t. I struggled with this when I started writing again in August, but now things are getting better. I plan to complete the 1st draft of my story by mid September. Enjoy the holiday and the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

