Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

It’s Romance Weekly Blog Hop day! 😀

If you’ve come over from Mikki Cober’s blog then welcome. If not, then why not check out her answers?

RW Banner

The questions are rather topical this week as I am all about the editing at the moment with my latest book.

1.When do you decide that you’ve done enough editing and changes would now be making it different, not better? So it’s the time to submit.

I think it really is an instinctual thing. At some point, I think a writer just knows it’s time to let their work go. Generally most authors will never be completely satisfied with their book, but at some point you just got to do it 😀

For me, it is definitely the point when I am getting ridiculously nit-picky over things, small things that I’ve gone over like fifty times and barely changed. By that point I know it’s time to finish it and let it go (totally not singing the song from Frozen or anything now!).

2. When and how do you accept change advice by rejection letters and critique partners?

I am always open to advice and criticism, and I am lucky that my readers all tend to spot different parts about my writing.

Taking criticism and knowing you will have to edit and change your work based on other’s opinions is just part of the job. It has to be done, and I view it as a great opportunity to see what areas of my writing I can improve on.

3. When you’re not writing, how do you spend your day or do you create your day around your writing?

Writing does tend to be my focus nowadays 😀 When I’m not writing, I am generally always thinking about it.

If I’m not writing and really want to take my head out of the game I play video games, read, or do some drawing, those are generally my go-to activities to stop me thinking about writing completely.

Some interesting questions this week!

Now find out what Carrie Elks has to say on the subject, I always love her answers to the hop questions, well, all her posts in general actually!

How would you answer this week’s questions? How do you know when it’s time to stop editing and let it go?

Progress report:

Status of fifth manuscript: Editing first draft.

Books read: 0/4

Mid-September Book Review: Currently reading.

20 thoughts on “Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

  1. Sometimes I think a story is done and then I find out later it was far from done, so my instincts only work sometimes. It helps to have beta readers who are good at different aspects, I think. On another note, can somebody tell me if Outlander is romance or not?

    • Instincts and beta readers, a combination that will hopefully see a manuscript through to the end!

      Outlander is definitely romance, at least I’d say it is 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting! 🙂

  2. I really like your first answer related to when to stop editing. When I get to the point where I am not really making any significant changes and really just nit picking, it’s time to put it to an end. I also feel that as a writer, I never take a break from it. Just like you said, if I am doing something else, my mind is thinking either about the next project I want to create or what I want to add to the project I’m working on now 🙂

    • Editing is such a difficult thing as I think all of us want to make our work perfect, but unfortunately I don’t think any of us ever feel that it will be, how ever much we edit 😀

      Thank you so much for commenting! It’s nice to find out that others work in similar ways 🙂

  3. Love what you said about thinking about writing even when you’re not writing. I think lots of us do a good deal of our writing, planning, and plotting in our heads before we ever type a word. Great post!

  4. Great questions and even better answers. 🙂 Editing is something I’ve been thinking about lately as well, and I must say I agree that it’s really an instinctual thing for writers. Our books are our babies, but we need to know when it’s time to let them go!

    • It really is instinctual, and so different for each writer. I think it’s all about finding your own rhythm and knowing when it’s done and you can do nothing more.

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

    • I am a major fan of RPGs, especially anything made by Bioware 😀 I think the deep story telling they have in their games helps fuel my imagination for writing!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

