Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

It’s Romance Weekly Blog Hop time! And we’re back to questions this week 🙂

RW Banner

If you’ve joined me from Carrie Elks’ blog, then a big welcome!

1. You’re moving right along with a storyline and suddenly it takes an unexpected twist. Do you go with the flow and follow where the twist leads you or do you conform your story to your way?

Suprisingly, considering my need for everything to be organised and go to plan, I actually go with the flow 😀

When a plot takes a route I wasn’t expecting, then to me that is one of the best things it can do. If it’s a surprise to me, then it will be a surprise to readers. Plus, it’s always great fun seeing if you can weave it back into your original plan and have fun with matching everything up again!

2. What time of year is your best time for writing? Winter, Summer, Fall, Spring?

Fall or Winter. Those are the seasons that inspire me to stay inside and cosy up with a cup of tea and get some writing done 😀 The weather also usually drives everyone else indoors, so it’s super quiet!

3. When looking for a publisher do you chose a traditional press, indie route, or one that does both,ebook and print?

I am a self published author, so thankfully I don’t have to worry about that! I love the freedom self publishing gives me and also the control I get to keep.

I’m not very good at giving over control of my work, especially things I’ve worked so hard on! 😀

Now check out what J.J. Devine, author of Into the Darkness, has to say in response to these!

How would you answer these questions? How do you react when a plot takes an unexpected twist?

Progress Report:

Status of fifth manuscript: With the readers.
– Finished the cover!
– Need to do promotional things.
– Need to write blurb.

Books read: 2/4

End of September Indie Review: Written and ready.

28 thoughts on “Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

  1. I’m with you on question 1, 2, and 3. I generally will follow wherever the story leads, seeing if it will end the way I initially intended. From the stories I’ve written so far, I’ve always managed to end a story in a way that I feel is pleasing. I also like to write during the winter–I find myself re-inspired during that time of year, probably because it’s more peaceful and I like to stay indoors 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed your responses. And I have to say I was surprised at the first one–that you would go with the flow, since you’re usually so careful about planning. I sometimes go with the flow, but usually I do it in free writing. It it takes the story off on a tangent, I’ll abandon the thread.

    • I know, right? 😀 I am such a fan of organisation and having everything go strictly to plan, but in writing I am a bit more willing to go with the flow and see where it goes!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  3. Everyone is so opposite of me on the seasons! LOL probably because I’m in more during the summer months in FL b/c it’s so damn HOT. (Africa hot) – Love your answers Mishka and I totally get the control over your own work thing. 😉

  4. I love it that everyone is saying they go with the flow, whether they are a self-professed plotter or pantser. It’s so exciting when stories take off in unexpected ways. Here’s to plot twists! 🙂

    • I think when a plot takes an unexpected turn, you sometimes just have to go with it, whether you like it or not 😀 The story forces us to go where it wants to go sometimes, rather than where we say it should!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  5. I totally agree with you about writing in the fall and winter. Everything’s dying or dead, but muse comes alive. I always feel so productive!

    • It certainly is one of my most prolific writing seasons 😀 It’s nice being able to see it all rainy outside, but being snuggled up inside and getting down to work!

      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  6. Hi Mishka! You just made me realize another reason why winter is the most productive writing time for me: the peace and quiet of the neighborhood! 😀 Thanks for sharing, and I just bought The Queen’s Jester! Can’t wait to read and write a blog post for you.

  7. I love it when a plot takes a direction I wasn’t expecting! I always try to give it some time before fully implementing it, though. I like to take some time to make sure it’s fully thought through, that it’s consistent with the work and it makes at least some sort of internal sense as its happening.

  8. I can totally imagine you going with the flow, you care about your characters too much to be regimental about that side of things. And it’s so exciting, isn’t it…letting the story go where it may 🙂 You’re right about the risk though – so many times I’ve had to delete or heavily edit a run away scene!

    • It is nice when the characters lead you somewhere unexpected, have had some of my best plot twists happen that way! 😀 But yeah, sometimes I got to read back through it all, just to be sure it all makes sense!

      Thank you so much for commenting, it’s always really appreciated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

