Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

RW Banner

It’s that time again, Romance Weekly Blog Hop time!

If you’ve joined me from the lovely Josie Malone’s blog, author of The Hero Spell, then welcome!

Now onto the questions!

Which type of character do you prefer writing about: Sexy, romantic, sweet, quirky, mean, old, young, smart, silly or other?

I’d like to say sexy, but in all honesty it’s probably the snarky characters! πŸ˜€ Those ones that always have a comeback for everything and their sarcasm offers no useful input, but it’s fun anyway.

Have you ever killed off (or gotten back at) an ex in your writing? On paper, of course.

No, I haven’t. I do try to stay away from basing my characters off of real people, as I always worry someone will guess!

What hobbies do you have that you incorporate in your writing?

Gardening is probably the biggest one. I do tend to find when characters are in a garden, I have to hold off from going into explicit detail of how the flower would look and how best it should be cared for in the coming season πŸ˜€

Some interesting questions answered this week πŸ˜€ So head on over to J.J.Devine, author of Into the Darkness, and see what she has to say in response to them!

Also, why not check out the new Romance Writers Weekly Blog?

Or sign up for the newsletter?

There is a monthly giveaway and this month my newest release, The Magic Spark, is one of the prizes! πŸ™‚

So, what about you guys- Have you ever got back at someone through your writing?

Progress Report:

Status of sixth manuscript: Writing first draft.
Word count: 5283 (Total word count: 12,148).

Books read: 1/4

Mid-October Book Review: Writing review.

30 thoughts on “Romance Weekly Blog Hop #lovewritechat

  1. Interesting questions I do incorporate a lot of myself in mine like cooking gardening and up cycling too.I understand how its hard to not get to over whelming with the gardening LOLAs for the gettign even ill take the 5th on that LOL

  2. When my horse spooked and took me on a wild ride and threw me threw the air I was thinking I’m either going to die or I’m going to use this in my writing. I didn’t come away with brain damage but my character from then on had trouble with his studies πŸ™‚

    I LOVE writing dialog for the real jerks in my books. What fun questions and answers.

    • It’s always good to take real life experiences and be able to use them in books, even better when they don’t kill you! πŸ˜€ Though horses are a bit weird, when I was riding a few years back, my horse decided it was fine with a huge tractor coming past but not with the daffodils that lined the path!

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  3. Really interesting questions! Great answers.
    I explored a past relationship in a book that wound up going nowhere. So that’s as close as I got to getting back at an ex. πŸ™‚

    • Writing can be a great way to release all the emotions and thoughts in our heads, but yeah, I can’t imagine exploring my past relationships would make for a very thrilling read πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  4. Great answers, Mishka! We are kindred souls in the gardening department. I mention flowers in my novel and had to edit, edit, edit to keep it smooth. πŸ˜€

  5. I’m so behind! Sorry for the delay in getting to this. I enjoyed your answers, as always. The question about taking out revenge is a fun one – I don’t imagine that’s an easy thing to admit! But I’m with you, I don’t base my characters on people – sometimes they have recognisable characteristics though πŸ™‚

  6. In all your books I’ve read, I think you killed off, what, one character? And he was a really good guy. You don’t really write a whole lot of death, makes it hard to get back at an ex that way. I imagine most romance writers carry a bit of past flames with them in their writing. After all, you base things on what you know, so it only stands to reason that you’d draw from your past relationships for material. But it’s generally good writing to keep any direct parallels out of it. Wouldn’t want the author to have any bias for or against their characters based on real life, right?

Leave a Reply

