Home » Romance Writers Weekly » Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

RW Banner

Back to the hop this week! Hello to all of those joining me from Sarah Hegger’s blog!

What questions are in store today?

1. Do any characters you’ve written into your books remind you of yourself? Explain which ones and why.

I don’t think so. I do try and stay away from making any character too like me, as I think it would be rather awkward reading through it and finding a character doing and saying everything I would πŸ˜€

2. Was there a teacher or mentor in your life who helped nurture your writing?

Oh, good question. I never really had a teacher or mentor for writing, but I do have to say my best friend has been a big influence in my life and writing. I actually met him on a post-by-post roleplaying forum, so writing was what first connected us πŸ˜€

Over the years I have been inspired by his writing, and he has really helped motivate and give me the confidence in my own work to pursue this career. One of the biggest helps has been the fact he’s so honest, he doesn’t mind telling me when something doesn’t work in my writing or needs improving/changing, and knowing that it won’t hurt my feelings. He seems to understand my want to improve my craft, so has always pushed me to keep going.

Thank you for that, Aether! πŸ˜€

3. Every author has that moment when they doubt their ability to write. When that happens to you, how do you pull yourself up by the bootstraps and continue? What do you do to inspire YOURSELF?

Ah, the ups and downs of writing. I’m ashamed to admit that my down moments usually come when I read another author’s blog and see how they’ve sold hundreds of books, whilst I haven’t.

Sometimes I worry my stories won’t appeal to anyone but me, that my ideas won’t affect people the way they do myself.

Then I realise how much I love writing, how much I need to write and get these stories and characters onto paper. That is what motivates and inspires me, the fact that I have such an intense passion for what I do, that I have to keep going, no matter what anyone else is doing.

I am determined to be successful in this career, because I love it too much to fail πŸ˜€

An interesting set of questions to come back to this week πŸ™‚ How would you answer them?

Now check out what Katherine has to say about them! Katherine Givens: http://katherinegivens1.wordpress.com/posts/

Don’t forget the Giveaway!

Progress Report:

Status of Fourth Manuscript: Editing first draft.

Books read: 0/4 (July)

July eBook Review: Writing review.

29 thoughts on “Romance Weekly #lovewritechat

    • I am very lucky. It’s nice to be able to have someone to just be able to chat about writing, because I really can go on and on πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the encouraging words πŸ˜€ I do feel kind of bad because I always support everyone and feel so great when they are successful, it’s just that pang of envy that always hits!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I do love it so much πŸ˜€ I can’t help but let that come through when I post about it or talk about it!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  1. What a fantastic interview. I love how passionate you are about your writing. By the way, I have my down moments as a writer whenever I read something that I believe is flawed, because it always makes me doubt if my own writing is lacking. Great writing, on the other hand, inspires me.

    • I know that feeling! Sometimes I can over-read and over-think a part of my book to the point I start doubting my writing, but usually the best thing to do is step away from it. Sometimes leaving it be and coming back to look at it later with more perspective can really help. Looking over old work is always an eye-opener! But it can help to show you how much you’ve improved πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

    • I do find sometimes that I’ve pulled a bit of someone I know and added it to a character, usually only tiny bits, but then it helps add realism, right? πŸ˜€

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. These are great questions and answers. I usually have part of myself in my characters πŸ˜‰

    We all have doubts as writers, but as long as we enjoy the craft it’s all worth it in the end πŸ˜€

  3. I kind of figure I’m so excited to just see my book in e-print, that getting any sales at all is just icing on the top. Comparing sales is definitely worthy of a fudge sundae to fend off the ensuing depression that comes.

    • Mmmmm… fudge sundae πŸ˜€

      But yeah, when I released mine I was so excited to get them out into the world I forgot people might actually want to buy them!

      Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  4. I never had writing friends until I became a writer. How wonderful it would have been… REMEMBER our own success is not measured by another’s. Keep writing and keep bringing your works to the world!!! Great answers!!!

Leave a Reply

