Home » Uncategorized » July 2014 Round-Up and August 2014 Plan

July 2014 Round-Up and August 2014 Plan

It’s August! Yeah, I don’t how that happened. Seems every month this year has crept up on me faster than it should have.

This month was a rather hectic one, but fun!

July
– Kept completely to schedule.
– Posted every scheduled day, except one I missed due to internet not working.
– I received more great reviews for my books 😀
> Heart of the Arena: 1x 5*, 4x 4*
> Stolen Bloodline: 4x 5*, 1x 4*
> The Queen’s Jester: 3x 4*
– Connected regularly with bloggers.
– Used twitter and facebook more effectively to help support other authors.
– Read 3 books (1 below target!)- The Commons, Book 1: The Journeyman by Michael Alan Peck, The Soul by S.R.Carrillo, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
– Updated my blog.
– Set up a mailing list and newsletter- Click here to sign up!
– Released Prophecy of Stones!

One goal I didn’t reach was that I didn’t look into different forms of marketing quite enough. This is something I am going to have to do, no matter how much I dislike marketing 😀 If I want to earn enough to live on from my writing, then it is something I am going to have to think about more and start implementing.

So, now onto August!

Plan:
1st- 31st- Write first draft of next book.
13th- Book review, either traditional or indie.
29th- Indie eBook review

Goals:
– Read 4 books!
– Find new ways of marketing and implement them.
– Continue actively supporting others and look into different ways of achieving this.
– Write more short pieces for prompts.

A lot of other things happened in July:

Melissa Barker-Simpson released her new book, Hands of Evil! You should definitely check it out. I am currently reading her book, Sins of the Father, and am thoroughly enjoying it (review to come!).

Ness Kingsley has returned to us 😀 She’s a great blogger, and definitely worth checking out her posts. Very excited to hear more from her in the future.

Lost to the Aether (my best friend and one of my amazing readers!) has started posting his comic, which is great fun read!

Kimberley M Ringer achieved an amazing thing by completing the Wharf to Wharf race! So a major round of applause to her!

Shehanne Moore has been posting some brilliant and hilarious posts, worth checking out just for the hamsters 😀

The Legends of Windemere trailer was released!

Wow, what a wrap up of this month 😀

I also want to say a MASSIVE thank you to everyone who re-blogged, tweeted and shared my release day post. I am so grateful for your amazing and continued support!

This weekend I will be posting some scheduled marketing posts, but I won’t be around until Monday as usual 🙂

49 thoughts on “July 2014 Round-Up and August 2014 Plan

      • Lists are definitely the way to go 🙂 I’m writing one now, you’ve inspired me! I’m writing a selection of short stories for my first publication and I’m determined to get the first draft completed this month. I need to stop editing them too much first time around (it’s a seriously bad fault of mine) and just get on with putting pen to paper.

  1. Wow, you accomplished a lot in July! Great job 🙂 If you don’t mind, could you let us know how you went about setting up your newsletter and mailing lists. I think it would be a great post! I know a lot of authors use different software for that, so I’m curious. Plus, it might help me decide how to start my own!

    • That’s a good idea for a post!

      I am not using any software, a personal choice just because I was thinking about spam and things for any potential people who want to sign up 😀

      Thank you for the kind comment and signing up for the newsletter! 🙂

  2. As organised as ever and some terrific achievements. Thanks so much for mentioning my books and for all your wonderful support. I will check out the sites you recommended 🙂

  3. I can write for hours on end, but I think it’s almost unhealthy. I try to take breaks–read alot (as you do). Do you ever worry that 12 hours a day of writing is stunting your growth in other areas? I’ll stipulate ‘writing’ includes all writing, like social media.

    • Working long hours is exhausting, but anyone who starts a new business has to be that dedicated to make a good start, right? 😀 I try to manage my days to make sure I can get everything in, I am a big fan of routine, but I also take breaks on a weekend to help avoid burn-out.

  4. Well done! I never cease to be amazed at what all you manage to do!
    Inspiring… which is one of the reasons I’ve nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” (Like that transition?) Feel free to do with it what you like, I like passing these along, but have no expectations of others to make a post about it if they don’t want to/have already received the award from someone/it doesn’t fit their blog style, etc.
    My post accepting the award (and nominating you) is here: http://disparatethreads.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  5. Mishka, as always, you are very inspirational. I can’t commend you enough for your amazing work ethic and the way you stay so focused and goal-oriented. Excellent job! Bravo! 😀

  6. Congratulations on what you accomplished last month and good luck with this month!

    This is a great idea, to post a wrap up of the last month and goals for the next month. I think I’ll take the inspiration and run with it!

  7. It’s so exciting to hear about your accomplishments each month–Congrats to everything you accomplished in July! Can’t wait to hear what you achieve in August 🙂

  8. Pingback: July 2014 Review, and Coming Up in August | Welcome To My Worlds

Leave a comment