Home » Writing » And I’m feeling good!

And I’m feeling good!

I got the first manuscript back from my readers last night, which was pretty awesome as it usually takes quite a bit longer. So, I was already taking that as a good sign that the story flowed and read easily.

When I give my manuscripts out to my readers, I ask that they note any parts they particularly liked, so as I can get a sense of what people enjoy and what are my strengths (also to make me feel a bit better as I slog through their notes for edits :D).

It’s fun finding out which bits they pull out as liking and find interesting.

But, I have to say I felt pretty darn tootin’ good when I got the manuscript back this time and found comments like this:

'Nice, nice, nice, nice.'

‘Nice, nice, nice, nice.’


'Fab! !- Highlighted! Love it!'

‘Fab! !- Highlighted! Love it!’


'You can just 'take it as read' from here on in that I love all the Sindrin bits!'

‘You can just ‘take it as read’ from here on in that I love all the Sindrin bits!’


'Love it!'

‘Love it!’

It really made me smile! 😀

I am proud of all the stories I have produced so far, but I was particularly glad to see comments like this on this manuscript, because I worked really hard on bringing everything I’ve learned and making this one of my best books. Really, really hard!

Normally I try not to write these kind of bragging posts, but I am so proud of this story I could burst! 😀 I can’t wait to get it out into the world and see what others think. I promise on Monday it will be back to regular posting 🙂

Now it’s just waiting for the last 2 manuscripts, and seeing what they think!

How is your writing coming along? If your in CampNaNo, are you doing well with your word goals?

Progress Report:

Status of fourth manuscript: Waiting for copies from the readers (1/3 returned).

Books read: 1/4

July eBook Review: Written and ready.

49 thoughts on “And I’m feeling good!

    • It really is motivating 😀 Now I just got to keep up this positive mentality until I get the other ones back. Harder than I thought it would be!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  1. I’m going to have to remember this trick of asking betas to highlight anything they particularly like in the margins.

    It sounds like your Sindrin character is a real hit!

    Good luck with your revisions.

    • Thank you so much! It is nice to feel proud, I just have to remember these moments for those times I’m not feeling so confident!

      Writing, it’s such an up and down career 😀

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

    • I am really excited about this book, I worked on stepping up my game and I think it’s paying off. Plus I love the story, which is also a good thing! 😀

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Bragging post? Not. All those compliments makes me wonder what you’re reader’s are talking about! I feel like I’m being left out of an interesting conversation lol.

    Anyway, my writing is going okay so far (you read my post so…I don’t think I need to go into detail). I think I might end up surpassing my word goal before the month is out. Hopefully…

    • It is interesting when you see other people post their comments from editors, it always make me more excited for the book they release just so as I can see what they were talking about 😀

      I hope you are feeling better 🙂

  3. From what I’ve seen thus far, those comments are well deserved. We’ll see about adding to those. It’s important to keep your spirits up, and positive feedback is a vital part of that.

  4. Well done that’s excellent. I’m currently waiting for my novel to come back from the proofreader before I make the final amendments and then publish it. So I’m looking forward to that. Hope this novel you’re working on now does well. 🙂

      • Ah thank you very much. That’s actually the next one which I’m currently working on. You may have read bits of ‘Reunion of the Heart’ (the one I hope to publish soon) earlier in the year as I shared bits on my blog for WIPpet Wednesday. My MC Anna in ‘Reunion of the Heart’ is a successful author. 😉

        LOVED your blog post on Shannon’s blog BTW! 🙂

  5. That’s wonderful feedback, I’m not surprised you’re feeling proud of the achievement. It’s so uplifting when our readers identify with the characters we create – they mean a lot to us so it’s the best compliment. I’m really looking forward to reading it 🙂

    • It really was awesome, and I’m still on a buzz from the happiness of it. I worked so hard to step up my game in this book, and so far it looks like it’s really paying off 😀

      Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

  6. Nice! It’s always wonderful when readers love your work. 🙂 Do you get your readers physical copies or e-copies or does it depend on the reader?

  7. Pingback: All the bad girls love a pirate… | shehanne moore

Leave a Reply

